I Own More TBR Than Read Books

Today I’m bringing you guys a brand new segment on the blog called Bookworm’s Confess, because I figured it was about time to tell you guys all of my bookish secrets. And I’m hoping I’ll be able to coax a few bookish secrets out of you guys, too!

 

bwsc

Today’s secret is one of my own, and it’s not something I’m particularly proud of.

There was a time that my personal library consisted of a much smaller collection of books, my TBR was sort of under control, and Goodreads was really a necessity to find new books to read and purchase.

That was years ago. Now, that small collection of books has grown and expanded, and I’m the proud owner of a hoard of books. But my secret isn’t that I kind of have an addiction to buying books. My secret (which you already know if you’ve read this posts title) is that the majority of the books I own are unread.

Image result for gasp gif

Yeah, you read that right. I know it sounds terrible, but it’s the truth: I buy books faster than I read them, and it’s something I’m sort of ashamed to say. But there, it’s off my chest! Now, time to explain:

A lot of the books I own I have read. For a while I had a pretty similar amount of read and unread books – read books always making up the majority of my mini hoard. That is, until the last couple of months.

With all these new 2017 releases being irresistible, the scales have tipped in the unread piles favour, and I’ve found myself to be in a rather sticky situation: I’m surrounded by unread books, and I keep adding more to the list.

On the one hand, having so many unread books is great. I always have reading material at my fingertips – and a variety of books to choose from, at that. On the other, it’s a bit overwhelming to have so many books waiting to be read  And I can’t really afford to go buying new releases (though of course I still do, haha), which is hard because the awesome bloggers I follow are always raving about books that sound great!

Some of you are probably wondering why I don’t go on a book buying ban, or give away some of the books I’m not really that interested in reading anymore. And they’re great questions, for sure – but my issue is:

  1. I don’t have the will to stick to a ban. I’ve tried before, and I failed miserably.
  2. MY BOOKS ARE TOO PRECIOUS TO GIVE AWAY ARE YOU JOKING?!

Haha! So it seems I’m stuck with this terrible ratio of read to unread books at the moment. I seriously need to get my read on!

But there you have it! My secret is out! If you’d be interested in perhaps talking about your own bookish confessions on my blog, you can either leave a comment, or contact me by:

Email: emmajanebug@gmail.com

Instagram: @thebookcrunch

Twitter: @thebookcrunch

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

13 thoughts on “I Own More TBR Than Read Books

  1. I have so many books on my TBR too! Both physical and ebooks! I don’t think I’ll EVER catch up with mines. BUT I don’t see that stopping me from buying books. If I can’t read them, I at least want to own them lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The more I think about it the more convinced I’m becoming that I am in the same situation. I definitely own a LOT of unread physical books but have also got a lot that I have read. If I included eBooks too then my TBR is definitely way, way more than my read books! Definitely a bookworm problem!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Sunday Post // August 13, 2017 – Comma Hangover

Leave a Reply

