My First YALC!

mfy!

YALC is the Young Adult Literature Convention, and has been held in London for the past four years. It spans over a weekend, and promises days of bookish fun for all!

This year is the first time I’ve been to YALC, and it was awesome! It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, but it was still a lot of fun (and it was actually better in some aspects). I thought there’d be more bookish merchandise for sale, but the stalls that were there were still cool (So. Many. Books.)!

The only negative thing I’ll say about it is that I had no idea what to expect, and upon getting there was quite stressed because I didn’t know what was going on. I think if the hosts of the event maybe put a little ‘What To Expect’ section on their site, it would be great.

The rest of the day when I was there was awesome – I met some lovely authors, listened to some cool panels and, of course, got a lot of bookish goodies!

The Haul

yalc

So I got quite a lot of stuff at YALC (most of which were freebies) – all of which I couldn’t actually fit in this picture. I think I’ve got about 16 badges, a few samplers, one awesome BKMRK tote bag and some cool bookmarks and posters. I also bought a YALC tote bag and a Book Boyfriend candle from Geeky Clean (the owner of which I met yesterday, and she was really nice)!

I visited nearly all of the stalls, except for a couple which includes Fairy Loot – their stall had a queue all day (a lengthy queue at that), so I didn’t get a chance, but I’m really happy with the stalls I did visit!

yalcb

I also bought books, of course! I’m a bookworm and I was surrounded by books (literally – books were everywhere)! Here are the books I bought:

Hello Me, It’s You edited by Hannah Todd

The idea of this book is truly wonderful, and I’m really looking forward to reading it (though I know I’m going to get emotional haha). And the people at the stall that I got it from were really nice, too.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

I’ve wanted to read this novel for a while now, and since it was only £5 I just had to buy it!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This is a book that I should’ve picked up years ago, but always seemed to find something else to buy in its place. I’m looking forward to starting it soon!

Coming Up For Air by Miranda Kenneally

I got a free proof copy of this one, and since I used to read books by this author when I was younger, I’ve been wanting to read it since I knew of its release.

This Is Really Happening by Erin Chack

This was another free proof, and though I don’t normally read non-fiction, I’m looking forward to giving it a go with this novel.

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

This book sounds rather hilarious, and I’ve read a book by the author that I enjoyed before. Also, it’s a hardback and was only £8, so how could I not buy it?!

Panel Events

gb

Genre-Bending

I was really looking forward to this talk, but unfortunately it was super busy and I sat right at the back, so I couldn’t quite hear what was going on half the time. V. E. Schwab had some interesting ideas on the literature hierarchy which I thought was really interesting, though!

elhb2

E. Lockhart

I really love the books I’ve read by E. Lockhart, so I really wanted to see this talk! Unfortunately I missed the beginning and the very end of it, but it was still really interesting to hear more about how the story of We Were Liars came to be! It was also chaired by Holly Bourne, so there’s a plus too!

Author Signings

IMG_1571

I met three authors yesterday! I first saw Carlie Sorosiak (who is in the photo above, excuse my weird face), who was really nice! I was the second person to get my book signed by her, and I’m so happy I got to meet her.

I also saw V. E. Schwab who was lovely! The queue for her was so long, and I think she was signing for at least four hours (but it was definitely worth the wait)!

I didn’t actually get to meet E. Lockhart (I was stuck in the queue for another author), but my parents were kind enough to go and get my book autographed for me. It’s a shame because I really wanted to fangirl about We Were Liars to her, but it seems my mom did for me haha!

IMG_1573

And finally, I got to meet Holly Bourne who was so lovely! Am I Normal Yet? means so much to me, and to be able to tell her that in person was so amazing (there’s a possibility I got sort of emotional after meeting her). She also high-fived my friend and I for starting our own feminist club, which we did after being inspired by her novels.

And that’s my day at YALC summed up! It was definitely worth getting out of bed in the ungodly hours of the morning to be there, and it’s an experience I won’t forget!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

Leave a Reply

