Contemporary Summer Reads

 

csr2.png

Summer is a wonderful time to be a bookworm, in my opinion. It’s long days filled with reading under the sun without a care in the world (well, if you’re still a student and don’t have a job, otherwise I’m sure you have lots of other things to care about).

When I picture summer, the first image that pops into my head is reading a nice contemporary book on the beach – and that’s exactly how I’m hoping to spend some of my summer days!

Here are some books I’m hoping to read this summer:

 

byskw2.png

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since I heard about it earlier this year! Does it not sound like the ultimate bookworm love story haha?! I’m hoping to buy this one soon so I can read it over the summer.

If you’ve read it, what did you think?

Goodreads synopsis:

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

99dkc.png

I received this book last Christmas and I still haven’t read it! I feel like this contemporary is perfect for reading in the heat of summer, so I’m hoping I’ll get round to it soon! I read How To Love by Cotugno a few years back and remember feeling very conflicted over how I felt about it, but I have high hopes for this book!

Goodreads synopsis:

Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer–99 days–with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly’s heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe wouldn’t quit till he got me to come to this party, and I’m surprised to find I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me–and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

urtslg.png

I’ve been wanting to read this book for so long! It sounds like it’s going to be so emotional, and I can already imagine the many tears I’ll shed when I read it.

Goodreads synopsis:

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

tmbla

One of my bookish besties (the awesome Sophie from Mind of A Book Dragon) told me how awesome (yet heartbreaking) this book is, so of course I went and bought it as soon as I could. I’m hoping to read this book soon, though I’m not sure if I’ll be able to cope with the feels!

Goodreads synopsis:

Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she’s going to win the national debating championship, then she’s going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer. But when Sammie discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she’d planned so perfectly is derailed before it’s started. What she needs is a new plan.

So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. Realising that her life won’t wait to be lived, she sets out on a summer of firsts: The first party; The first rebellion; The first friendship; The last love.

Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.

And those are a few of the books I’m hoping to read this summer!

Are any of these books on your summer TBR?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

9 thoughts on “Contemporary Summer Reads

  1. I read an arc of “Under Rose-Tainted Skies” and loved it! It’s a great summer read book. I love reading contemporaries. I’m definitely going to have to check out “By Your Side”; it sounds interest and perfect for summer reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! A couple of years back I was strongly against contemporaries and only read paranormal/sci-fi novels, but I’m really loving them at the moment! I think it really just comes down to finding the right books for you 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

