Book Tag | Mid-Year Freak-Out

book tag.png

I realised yesterday that my posts have pretty much been the same for the last couple of months – either a review, reading updates or monthly wrap-ups. I just haven’t had the time to sit down and write some original posts, but I’m hoping in a couple weeks when I finish college I’ll have more time to.

I also noticed that I haven’t done a tag in a while, and I saw this one over at Chelle’s Book Ramblings (you guys should go check out her blog!) and thought it looked like fun, so I’m going to give it a go!

Let’s begin!

bbyrsfi2017

I’ve recently read some amazing books, so answering this one is a bit tricky for me! In terms of genre, the best fantasy novel I’ve read this year has to be Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (she is Queen haha!), but I don’t think I can pick my favourite contemporary.

Random fact: I went off contemporaries for a while, but my love for them seems to be coming back.

bsyrsf2017

Lord of Shadows without a doubt. It’s the second book in Cassie Clare’s The Dark Artifices series, and it was so good (you can check out my review here). However, I will mention I haven’t read A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas yet so this choice was a pretty easy for me (those two books were my most anticipated releases this year, and I know ACOWAR is going to be amazing).

nryhrybwt

There are so many books that have been published this year that I want to read! One is Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall – this book sounds so good (and so emotional), and I can’t wait to read it.

Goodreads synopsis:

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

marftshoty

The Becoming of Noah Shaw by Michelle Hodkin may just be the most anticipated book for me right now. I only just (literally, while writing up this tag) found out about it, and I am on the verge of becoming a hysterical fangirl!

I loved Hodkin’s Mara Dyer trilogy, and I really liked the way it ended, so I’m a bit scared for what this book will hold. But I have to read it. Dear gods how am I going to be able to wait until November for this to be published?!

bd

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you might have picked up on the fact that I very rarely DNF a book – which isn’t to say I always finish books, but I mostly think that I’ll eventually pick it up again if I don’t. (I sort of feel if I’m not getting along with a book, it’s just not the right time to read it.)

A book that I gave up on this year was Chasing the Stars by Malorie Blackman. I just couldn’t get along with the writing style, but I’m determined one day I’ll pick it up – hopefully when I’m more in the mood for it.

bs

I was shocked by how much I enjoyed Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. It’s such a great novel, and so unique in terms of plot and layout. I initially picked it up because the trailer for the movie adaptation looks really good, but I wasn’t expecting the book to be as amazing as it was. You can check out my review here!

fna

I recently read and reviewed Carlie Sorosiak’s debut, If Birds Fly Back, and it was a lovely novel. This is definitely an author to keep an eye out for!

fnc

I loved Olly from Everything, Everything – he was such a sweetheart to Maddy!

fnc2

I’ve come across some awesome characters this year! Namely Linny (from If Birds Fly Back), and Rhys & Steffi (from A Quiet Kind of Thunder).

btmyc

I won’t lie, it would be quicker to list the books that didn’t make me cry this year (I’m an emotional person, I can’t help it haha), so I’m just going to leave it at that!

abtmyh

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard made me happy – I said in my review that it makes me feel happy just thinking about the story and the characters. Sara Barnard did such a wonderful job with this novel!

mbbybtysf

I’m going to let these covers talk for themselves:

IMG_4954

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

IMG_4926

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

I also bought The Girl of Ink & Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, and it is possibly one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever seen. There are little illustrations on every page and it’s so lovely! Unfortunately I haven’t taken any photos of it yet, but I’ll definitely be posting them on my Instagram when I do!

wbdyntrbteoty

So many. I’ve fell behind on my Goodreads challenge (well, to fall behind surely you had to be on target in the first place, which I technically wasn’t…), but the one book I’d like to read before the end of the year is A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. I loved the first two books, and I know this book is going to be amazing, too.

And that’s the end of the tag!

If you’d like to do this, feel free to say I tagged you! I’d love to hear your answers in the comments!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

3 thoughts on “Book Tag | Mid-Year Freak-Out

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

