Mini Book Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

IMG_4933

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publishers: Delacorte Books For Young Readers

Publication Date: 1st September, 2015

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

This was such a sweet, touching novel. It’s the fastest I’ve read a book in a while, and it broke my heart, but also made me feel alive with the feels.

This is the first book I’ve read by Nicola Yoon, and to say I’m impressed is to say the least. The writing was stunning! I loved how engaging and easy to read it was with the illustrations along with the normal prose.

Our characters were great, and I really liked Maddy as our MC. I could relate to her in certain aspects (namely how much she loves reading), and I sympathised with what was going on in her life. I loved Olly, and they were both very interesting characters. As a pair, they made my heart swoon; they were just so adorable!

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”

I only had one issue with Maddy: how she started acting towards a certain someone at the end of the book. I can understand why she felt the way she did, but it seemed rather cruel, considering the circumstances (I can’t say much else because we’ll be heading into spoiler territory, but hopefully that makes sense).

The plot twist didn’t surprise me if I’m honest, as I’d already guessed what was going to happen before I even started reading the book. I’ll be honest though: it still made me cry. And the ending – where do I begin? It broke my heart, and I wish it hadn’t ended where it did. I wanted to find out more; I wanted everything to be fixed. But life isn’t like that, and books can’t always tell the perfect story. There was a small plot hole right at the end of the novel, but the rest of the book made up for it.

Nicola Yoon tells a beautiful tale of love in this novel – the kind of love that warms your heart and gives you that feeling of happiness in your bones. If you enjoy Young Adult contemporary novels, Everything, Everything is definitely for you.

Topic Awareness:

  • Mentions of death
  • Illness

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

5 thoughts on “Mini Book Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Pingback: Book Tag | Mid-Year Freak-Out | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: Bookish Quotes | June Edition | The Book Crunch

  3. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | The Book Crunch

  4. Wonderfully written review! OMG I loved this book soooo much. Maddy and Olly were just too adorable to resist – the instalove got me in this book. I haven’t watched the movie yet, but by how good the book was I’m thinking that I just may give it a go! 😀
    I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

