Book Review | Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

 

cclos

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Publishers: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: 23rd May, 2017

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again? And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear-before it’s too late.

*Read this post at your own discretion: If you haven’t read Lady Midnight, there may be slight spoilers for it.*

I feel like I’ve been on an intense journey the past couple of days reading this book. I really liked it, and desperately didn’t want it to end, but I’m also relieved it did – the length of it was pretty much perfect (699 pages), though it’s easy to imagine if it had gone on for much longer I would have felt a bit overwhelmed.

I knew I was going to love this book before I read it, because it’s Cassandra Clare and I love her books, and I love the Shadowhunters franchise. This book had a lot to live up to when it came to my expectations, and it really didn’t disappoint.

‘He picked up the sketchbook, turning it so she could see his work – a gorgeous rendition of a stone bridge they’d passed, surrounded by the drooping boughs of oak trees.

“You could sketch me,” said Emma. She flung herself down onto her seat, leaning her head on her hand. “Draw me like one of your french girls.”‘

The writing was stunning, and I easily found myself lost within the story. However, I have to mention that it felt like something was missing. It was an amazing book, but I feel like this was a filler novel of sorts – a lot of stuff had to happen to get us to this point where the main story-line can play out, and though these events carried us through the book, nothing overly major happened.

I’m pretty good at guessing what things are going to happen in a book, so I’m not caught off guard most of the time. When there was something that I hadn’t anticipated, I wasn’t overly shocked though. There was none of that sudden burst of emotion where I’m like ‘OMG NO WAY’, which is a factor I’ve come to fear, but also happily expect from Cassie’s novels. However, that’s not to say I wasn’t surprised by this book: I was, and I was still desperate to know what happened next.

This series has a bunch of amazing characters. I really like our main group – Emma because name twins are cool and she’s a badass; Julian because he continuously fights for his family; Kieran and his strength; Mark with his kind heart, and Cristina for her bravery.

IMG_4926.JPG

ThereΒ wasn’t just a focus on the main characters, though – we really got to know everyone.Β WeΒ uncovered a whole other side to all of the characters, and it was wonderful.Β I loved how Kit fit into the story (I mean heΒ is a Herondale, so how couldn’t I love him?), and his blossoming friendship with Ty was completely ship-worthy, if you get my drift.

I thought it was awesome how diverse this novel was, too. I can honestly say I feel like Clare is one of the most realistic YA fantasy authors out there – there are characters from all different backgrounds and lifestyles, and it’s great to see so much representation.Β I was so happy that we explored Ty’s autism as well – I don’t have autism, but I could draw similarities between Ty and myself, and it was lovely how Kit was there for him.

I can’t actually figure out how many possible ships there are in this novel; everywhere I turn another possible OTP is blooming. (I have to quickly mention that we also encountered some characters from past Shadowhunter series, and I may have fangirled a lot slightly.)

‘β€œWe get used to living one way, even if it’s a bad way or a hard one. When that’s gone, there’s a hole to fill. It’s in our nature to try to fill it with anxieties and fears. It can take time to fill it with good things instead.”’

I felt a bit disconnected from the ending. Not because of what happened, but because of what didn’t happen. It felt slightly lack-lustre to me, but feeling this way is definitely my own fault. I saw people hyping up the ending on Twitter, and I thought something else was going to take place which hit my heartstrings much harder (and bought tears to my eyes), but it didn’t, so what did didn’t effect me as much as it would’ve (though a certain character’s reaction made me cry a little, I’ll admit).

I wish I’d had the time to read this book in just a couple of sittings, because I think the time it takes to read a novel really effects how I think about it, and perhaps with less time to speculate I really could’ve focused on what actually happened (because there was a lot) instead of what I thought was going to happen.

There are many things I haven’t mentioned about this novel that are awesome, because my review would likely never end.Β This book has left me with so many questions, and I’m desperate to know the answers. I thinkΒ Lady Midnight was perhaps the better book in terms of plot, but Lord of ShadowsΒ comes out on top when it comes to character depth, and sheer volume of events. I have a feeling the third and final novel of The Dark Artifices series is possibly going to be one of Cassie’s most dramatic works yet, and I can’t wait!

Topic Awareness:

  • Violence (with vivid descriptions)
  • Death (with vivid descriptions)
  • Romance / Mentions of sex

I can’t recommend this book enough! If you’ve read it, what did you think?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

  1. I really loved this book and did think it lived up to my expectations. I loved not having one single main character because the whole point of the story is family so you get to see everything from so many points of view which really added to the depth. I think Kit is my favorite character and can’t wait to see what happens with him and Ty:) In the next book things are for sure going to get very real and I couldn’t be more excited! Loved your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw yay! I agree, the different POVs really made the novel as good as it was – I think that’s why (like you say about it adding to the depth) I felt so much more connected to the characters! I’m not sure how I’m going to cope waiting for the next one, but me too haha. Thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap-Up! | The Book Crunch

  3. Pingback: Book Tag | Mid-Year Freak-Out | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

