Mini Book Review | An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters & Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare & Cassandra Jean

IMG_4802.JPG

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publishers: Simon and Schuster Childrens Books

Publication Date: 3rd November, 2016

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Featuring characters from Cassandra Clare’s international best-selling novels from the Shadowhunters world including The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices and The Dark Artifices, this anthology showcases beautifully illustrated portraits from Cassandra Jean – creator of The Shadowhunter Tarot – alongside never-before-known details from Cassandra Clare about all your favourite characters.

Since this isn’t a novel per se, I can’t review it how I normally would. But because I enjoyed it (and it’s so beautiful), I’m going to give it a go, and share with you a few of my favourite illustrations from this book.

IMG_4835

The Infernal Devices: Jem Carstairs. I love this illustration of him so much; it’s so intricate, and fits Jem’s personality so well.

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ll know I love Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter world. I love all of the books so far, but The Mortal Instruments is one of my all time favourite series (I sort of think it works like this when it comes to Cassie Clare books: the first series you read is your favourite. This obviously doesn’t apply to everyone, but I’ve seen it happen a lot. Side note: If you’ve read them, which Shadowhunter series is your favourite?).

IMG_4839

The Last Hours: James Herondale. Anyone with Herondale as their last name instantly has my attention, but that’s not the only reason I included James in my review. I think this might be my favourite illustration from the book, regardless of the actual character or series that the character comes from.

So when I saw this beauty of a book being shown off on Instagram, I knew I needed it in my life (okay, I didn’t need it, but I really wanted it. Same thing…right?). I’ve had it since Christmas, and it’s taken me this long to pick it up, but I’m very happy I did.

The Mortal Instruments: Chairman Meow & Magnus Bane. Ah, our favourite warlock and his adorable cat!

Cassandra Jean’s illustrations are beyond beautiful. They have this raw elegance and stunning detail that captures your attention and keeps your eyes glued to the page for just that moment longer. And it was pretty cool to learn some new things about our beloved characters, and perhaps some lesser known ones, too.

IMG_4855

The Dark Artifices: Mark Blackthorn. I love Mark so much, and this illustration fills me with a lot of feels!

I really liked all of the illustrations (Cassandra Jean is so talented!), but there was one that particularly caught my attention, and struck me right in the feels (I got emotional, I won’t lie). However, I’m not going to share that one, and leave it for all of you Shadowhunter lovers to discover. I will give you this very unsubtle hint though:

The ‘True’ Jonathan Morgenstern…

Thanks!

 – Emma

Read On!

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Book Review | An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters & Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare & Cassandra Jean

  1. Pingback: [Award] Unique Blogger – That Wild Soul

  2. Pingback: April Wrap-Up! | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

