Bookish Update | Mid April

du.png

As I’m sure most of you bookworms know, life just loves getting in the way of us reading.

And that’s exactly what’s been happening since I started college last September. For months now, I’ve been struggling to find the time to pick up a book and read it, and it doesn’t help how hectic my schedule has become in these past few weeks, either.

But it’s not just time that’s been an issue – it’s also the fact I’ve sort of been on the border of reading slump territory for a while now.

(For those reading this who have never entered reading slump territory: it is the bane of a bookworms existence.)

The number of books I’ve picked up in the last few months to read, and only ended up putting down again a page and a few days later is quite amazing, really (in the worst possible way, that is).

But I have good news: I’m currently reading!

Image result for happy dance gif

Sure, was the last time I picked the book up a couple of days ago? Yes, but I’m using the excuse of taking my time, and not letting myself believe this slump is trying to win. And I’m so close to the end, I’m determined to finish it!

Here’s what I’ve been reading:

FullSizeRender (22)

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Tally can’t wait to turn sixteen and become pretty. Sixteen is the magic number that brings a transformation from repellent Ugly into a stunningly attractive Pretty, and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks, Tally will be there.

But Tally’s new friend, Shay, isn’t sure she wants to be Pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the Pretty world – and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn Pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

I’ve really been enjoying this novel! It was the read I never knew I needed…but I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m sort of in a lull-area right now. I’m not particularly loving this section of the novel, but I’m going to try and power through it, and you’ll hopefully see my review up later this week!

What are you currently reading?

Thanks!

 – Emma

Read On!

 

2 thoughts on “Bookish Update | Mid April

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award Pt…2! – Book Princess Reviews

  2. Pingback: April Wrap-Up! | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

