Review | Gracie’s Song by Michelle Schlicher

IMG_4389

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance

Publishers: Self-Published

Publication Date: March 11th 2016

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

“Everything can be undone.” That’s what someone tells Gracie Brannen, but she’s doubtful. After graduation, she walked away from everyone she knew with barely a word. Ten years later, she’s back. Even as familiar places and faces bring back old pain, Gracie finds hope in rebuilding old ties and forging new ones. Maybe everything can’t be undone, but perhaps everything can be overcome.

*Disclaimer: I received an e-copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review.*

If I’m perfectly honest with you guys, I don’t love contemporary books. I normally steer clear of them, and opt for books that are full of paranormal adventure and fantastical creatures. I just often find the genre rather predictable, and a little too full of sickeningly sweet, fluffy romance.

‘It seemed sometimes that words were insufficient.

However, Gracie’s Song has changed my view of the genre. I find myself surprised to say that I really liked this book! It was such a touching and heart-warming read – yes, I’ll admit, I did cry a little bit (okay, that’s a lie: I shed a whole lot of tears while reading this book!). It exceeded my expectations by a mile, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to read it!

Why were goodbyes so hard?

Gracie was an interesting character. From the get-go, us readers are left wondering what convinced her to leave her home, and everyone she loved behind. We don’t find out until quite late on in the book, which sort of shrouds her in this barely concealed mystery. It kept me reading, wanting to know why she left so abruptly, when everything was seemingly perfect.

It had to be, in part, because there was no way to say everything you wanted to say.

Our main group of characters were fun to read about, and weren’t generic at all! I really liked how they all seemed to fit together so well (I loved the friendship between Olivia, Grant and Finn!), and I liked seeing the different types of family dynamics in this novel, along with Gracie’s own childhood experiences.

Everything you needed to say.

The only faults I faced with this book were nothing major: the flashbacks and the ending. I really liked the flashbacks; I just had trouble distinguishing  from when we were in the present and past. And with the ending, I think a certain someone changed their feelings rather abruptly, as I felt this part was a bit rushed. However, it didn’t bother me too much, as I was really happy with the overall ending.

And what if there wasn’t another chance?’

I feel like I learned something very important from this book, which isn’t a thing that happens all too often for me. Michelle Schlicher has crafted a beautiful story about love, family, and loss with Gracie’s Song, and her wonderful writing made it all the more lovely to read.

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

