Book Junkies Chat: A Court of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Hey guys!

Beth, Sophie and I are back with June’s book chat! We decided to read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas last month, and here are our thoughts on it!

(Haven’t seen our book chats before? You can check our most recent one here, and you can find out what our book chats are here!)

*SPOILER ALERT: Read this post at your own discretion. If you haven’t read ACOTAR, some aspects of the book may be ruined for you.

What were your first impressions of Feyre?

Sophie: I wasn’t sure what to think of her. I found her dynamic between her and her sisters to be really interesting too. I couldn’t decide if she was a self-sacrificing in a destructive way or not, but she grew on me.

Emma: I’m not going to lie, her actions annoyed me in the beginning. However, as the book went on, I started to understand her character better. I started understanding why she acted the way she did, especially in regards to her home life. By the end of the book, I’d come to really respect her and like her attitude.

Beth: At first I was very unsure about her, but she grew on me as the book went on. But I can still see how people would find her annoying, as she did make some questionable decisions. Overall though, she was an extremely interesting character to read about.

Describe this book in 3 words.

Sophie: OH. MY. GOD.

Emma: Extravagantly, amazingly unique.

Beth: Mixed. But. Incredible.

Did the book end the way you thought it would?

Sophie: Funny story. I like to go to the last page to see which page is the real last page (you know how some books have excerpts? Yeah I don’t like being fooled like that.). So I kind of knew what would ultimately happen, but the small twists and turns that did happen I was taken by complete surprise.

Emma: I’m the same as Sophie, and I count how many pages are in a chapter too! (I have become a victim of many spoilers this way – which happened at one point in this book!) I didn’t expect the book to end the way it did – the whole last half was so epic, I honestly couldn’t put it down! I loved the way it ended, and didn’t see it coming at all.

Beth: I do the same, Sophie! But I made sure to not look at any of the words, so I had no clue about the ending. Actually, the ending shocked me! I expected it to end on more of a cliffhanger.

What are your thoughts on Rhysand, Tamlin, and Lucien?

Sophie: Lucien!!!! I loved Lucien almost immediately. I knew Tam was supposed to be the love interest in it so I was interested to see how the story would unfold around him. I grew to love him like Feyre did. It did bother me he made zero effort to help Feyre in the end of things. I HATED Rhysand! Why did he have to be such a jerk!? My opinion changed after reading ACOMAF.

Emma: From the get-go, I fell in love with Rhysand! (You’re probably thinking: what? He’s a jerk! Which is true, but I just had a feeling that he wasn’t actually how he seemed… And I just need to say for anyone who has read ACOMAF, I guessed what that little scene with Rhys at the end of this book meant!!!) My thoughts on Tamlin are a little more complicated. One moment he was making me experience all of the feels, and the next he bored me. When it came to end in Under the Mountain, I just wanted to tell Feyre that if he wasn’t going to even try and help the situation, she should kick him to the curb and haul out of there! I found Lucien to be an awesome, fun character – I loved his sass!

Beth: I felt mixed about all of them, actually. There were times when they all annoyed me – Lucien at first, Tamlin at the middle-end, Rhysand most of the time – but I did like them all at times, too. Especially Tamlin!

How do you feel about Feyre’s family?

Sophie: I like them and the way that they were different from most families. I’m not condoning what her father and sisters did and the way they treated her but I found their dynamic a bit fascinating.

Emma: They made me really rather angry. They couldn’t have been blind to what Feyre was sacrificing for them, and yet they did nothing to help her. I thought it was horrid how the well-being of her whole family was placed upon her shoulders at such a young age, especially considering that she is the youngest, and should have never had that job practically forced upon her.

Beth: I couldn’t help but dislike them! As Emma said, they made me very angry and I just couldn’t get my head around why they treated Feyre the way they did.

What was your favourite part/scene?

Emma: *cough* Everything with Rhysand in *cough*

Sophie: Omg Erma!! Lol I liked the beginning part where we’re first introduced to Lucien and Tam.

Beth: Hmm, that’s a really difficult one! Probably the middle part when Feyre was getting to know Tam!

And that’s it for our A Court of Thorns and Roses chat! If you’d like to join our YA based book club, The Book Junkies, you can head on over to our Goodreads page here, or find us on Instagram here!

What are your thoughts on A Court of Thorns and Roses?

(p.s: you can check out my review for this book here!)

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

