Mini Review | A Court of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_4117

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publishers: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: May 5th, 2015

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Wow. This book was outstanding! A Court of Thorns and Roses was this months book for The Book Junkies book club (which is run by my friends and I!), and I’m so glad I’ve finally read it!!

“There are those who seek me a lifetime but never we meet,
And those I kiss but who trample me beneath ungrateful feet.

Though I found the first couple of chapters a bit slow, once I got used to the writing style, I was hooked! Maas has such a beautiful way with words – the way her writing flows, and how she describes things, is truly amazing! This book was captivating, and so addictive that I could not put it down.

At times I seem to favor the clever and the fair,
But I bless all those who are brave enough to dare.

Let’s talk about the plot! I haven’t read anything like this before – it was so unique! I had absolutely no clue what was going to happen, and being kept in suspense like that was one of the things that made this book so great. This book was in no way predictable, and had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what would happen next.

By large, my ministrations are soft-handed and sweet,
But scorned, I become a difficult beast to defeat.

The ending was out. Of. This. World. I could go on and on about the wonders that is the last third of this book! Don’t get me wrong, the beginning was great, but the last section was wonderful!


For though each of my strikes lands a powerful blow,
When I kill, I do it slow… ”

I loved this book so much, I immediately went out the next day and bought the second one – that’s how invested I was in the story line! I’ll be posting my review of the next book, A Court of Mist and Fury, later this week and I’ll be doing a more in-depth analysis of the characters and the world!

If you like amazing fantasy books, you need to read A Court of Thorns and Roses!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

12 thoughts on “Mini Review | A Court of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Book Junkies Club: A Court of Thorns and Roses – The Books Are Everywhere

  2. Pingback: Book Chat: The Book Junkies June Discussion – The Mind of a (Book) Dragon

  3. Pingback: Book Junkies Chat: A Court of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas | The Book Crunch

  4. Pingback: The Panic! At The Disco Book Tag | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

