Mini Review | Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

IMG_4086

Genre: Young Adult Dystopia/Futuristic

Publishers: Harper Collins Children’s Books

Publication Date: March 24th 2016

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED. 

I really enjoyed this book! I read it so fast; it had me hooked! Now I’m sitting here, writing this review, wondering how on Earth I’m going to be able to wait until next year for the sequel.

I haven’t read any of Cecelia Ahern’s previous novels, but I really liked her writing style. It was different, and flowed wonderfully. It really made me want to read, if that makes sense – it was so easy to do so, and I almost felt as if the words were encouraging me along.

The idea behind this novel is something I have been wanting to see in a book for a while. I think our author has written a very truthful futuristic version of our world – some people are so hung up on being perfect, of every aspect of their life being perfect, they often forget about norms and morals. All in all, I found this book to be very touching; the subject matter was so important, and I think Ahern handled it wonderfully. (I was going to say perfectly, but I feel like that might be a bit hypocritical after what I just said!)

I really did like this novel, though I have to say something did feel a bit off. The characters weren’t quite up to par with the rest of this book, unfortunately. The style and flow of the writing was lovely, and the idea behind the book as a whole was an intriguingly awesome one, however I feel like a few of the characters could have been a bit more developed.

If you like Young Adult, futuristic novels with a swirl of the true world thrown in, I think you’ll enjoy this book!

You can get Flawed by Cecelia Ahern from Amazon!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

