My Favourite LGBTQ+ Books

Hey guys!

Over the weekend, the worst gun crime to ever happen in America took place in Colorado at a gay club. It was a hate crime against the LGBTQ+ community, and because it’s important to show support (or at least tolerance) at a time when hate is dominating (or rather, plaguing) the world, I wanted to do something to show my support at this horrible time.

And though as small a gesture it may be, I wanted to do a post that included the community, as it is pride month as well. So I thought I’d tell you guys a few of my favourite LGBTQ+ books, and why they’ve moved and evoked such emotion out of me.

Let’s begin!

Spoiler Warning: there will be major spoilers for these books, so if you haven’t read them, don’t read my reasons as to why I love them!

IMG_3951

South of Sunshine by Dana Elmendorf

(My review!)

I found this story really touching! It’s the first book I’ve read about a girl character coming to terms with her sexuality, and I felt like our author did a really good job of showing Kaycee’s own personal development throughout the novel. It was lovely seeing our main character accept who she was, and finally be proud of herself!

 

IMG_3955

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments is one of my favourite series ever, and by book 3, I was obviously very emotionally invested in all of the characters! I was so proud of Alec in this book – he stood up for who he was, let the shadow world know that he was with Magnus, and that he wasn’t ashamed of it! I love Malec, and in the Shadowhunters TV show, I love how they’ve been brought to life by the very talented Matthew Daddario and Harry Shum Jr!

 

IMG_3965

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

(My review!)

I’ve never read a love story so tender and beautiful as this one. This book makes me feel all fuzzy inside, and I love it! I do have a few OTPs, and Simon & Baz are well up there at the top! Rainbow Rowell is a wonderful author, and I would say this is my favourite LGBTQ+ book ever. This was such a wonderful book (and hilarious!), and if you haven’t read it, I can’t recommend it enough!

lm

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

(My review!)

Mark made me feel all fuzzy too (unpopular opinion time: I really ship him with Emma! I think he suits her much better than Julian, if I’m honest. But his faerie Prince suits him too…)! Cassie Clare’s writing is so beautiful and rings so true to me, if that makes sense. I love the way she expresses relationships in her books, and I find everything feels so emotional and real with her work.

I just wanted to say that my thoughts are with anyone involved at the shooting, along with the friends and families of the people lost, and the LGBTQ+ community as a whole. It disgusts me that our world today still displays such horrific injustice towards innocent people, and I hope one day people will learn that their ignorant opinions and decisions are not okay, and everyone deserves to be seen (and treated) as equals.

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

4 thoughts on “My Favourite LGBTQ+ Books

Leave a Reply

