Bookworm Adventures: Vol. 1

Hey guys!

 

Bookworm Adventures is a new segment on my blog, where I’ll be going on bookish adventures and telling you guys all about them! So without further do, let’s get started!

If any of you follow me on Instagram (you can find me here!), you may know that I went on an adventure earlier this week, and I’m happy to say I had an amazing time! I spent a little time on Google the night before, searching for anything that remotely resembled a bookworm’s paradise…and I found something that looked promising. And so the next day, off I went on my first official Bookworm Adventure!

And low and behold, I found a beautiful Book Farm!

This place was a little out of the way, and was slightly tricky to find, but my family’s navigational skills didn’t fail! There were two buildings – we went in the smaller one first, which really just consisted of one room full of books.

 

I didn’t find any books of interest in here, however it was still fun just marveling at the vast amount of books in this small room!

Then we moved onto the converted barn, which is the main shop, and I fell. In. Love.

It literally felt like I had walked into a bibliophile’s heaven – this place was rammed to the brim with books! I didn’t manage to get too many photos of this part, because I was too busy looking at what the shelves had to offer. However, in the first section on the windowsill, I spotted this, and had to take a photo:

IMG_3845

(This photo shows a Kindle in a cage, with a sign saying ‘Danger: Do Not Feed’.)

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my Kindle – I treasure it! However, I do think this joke is funny, as this place is boasting hundreds and hundreds of physical books! (What are your thoughts on Kindles? Comment below!)

After this section, the shop just carried on, and on…and on!

I did have a genuine moment where I thought I would get lost in this place, but it didn’t feel like a bad thing at all! Wondering aisles and aisles of bookcases holding hundreds of books for the rest of my life? That would literally be a dream come true.

My favourite section was sci-fi and fantasy – they had two rooms for it, and it was awesome! They also had two small manga and graphic novel sections by the windows, but unfortunately they didn’t have any first books in a series, so I couldn’t get any.

I did, however, get some ‘normal’ books! I did have quite a haul, but I had to put some down (as soon as I neared the till, I remembered all of the unread books I already own, and knew I couldn’t add to it by that amount).

In the end, I got:

IMG_3860

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

I have wanted to read this book for such a long time, and couldn’t leave it after I saw it! The movie is an absolute favourite of mine, so I’m hoping the book will be as good as that!

IMG_3864

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

The reason I picked this book up was because of the author – I love the movie Stardust (as in, I absolutely adore it!), and I know that Neil Gaiman wrote it. Though I have yet to read Stardust, Neverwhere sounded interesting, and I wanted to give it a go!

IMG_3861

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I bought American Gods partly because of the author, but also because I’ve heard such good things about it! Both of the Neil Gaiman books I picked up are special editions, and are not the widely published versions of the books, but more how Gaiman originally wrote them!

After we bought our respective books, we went to the cafe that was in the barn. And my gods, was it beautiful!

Picture1

I only managed to get a photo of it on my phone, so it doesn’t really do it justice, but you get the gist of it! There were more tables behind us as well. The staff were lovely, the food was lovely, and overall the atmosphere in there was wonderful! I wouldn’t have minded curling up on one of the couches to read for the rest of the day!

As seen on the counter in the photo above, they had this amazing wallpaper, which I now desperately want:

(It seemed to involve a lot of James Bond!)

I had an amazing day, and I know I’ll be visiting the Book Farm again soon!

(p.s: hope you guys enjoyed this post! I’d love to hear your thoughts on it!)

Thanks!

 – Emma

Read On!

12 thoughts on “Bookworm Adventures: Vol. 1

  1. Yes to I am Number 4. If you loved the movie I’m sure you’ll love the book plus the newest book in the series is coming out soon! Great finds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

