Mini Review | The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

IMG_3882

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Publishers: Scholastic Press

Publication Date: 18th September 2012

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

This book was so amazing, I couldn’t put it down! When I finished it, I wanted the next one in the series immediately (I’m patiently waiting to order them all so I can read them as soon as my last exams are over!), and I honestly don’t know how I’ve lasted this long without The Dream Thieves (the next book).

‘She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.’

First off, let’s talk about our characters! Though I did feel like Adam and Noah had some similarities, our main group of characters were all very individual, and unique to themselves. It’s really rather refreshing to have such different personalities in a Young Adult novel, because I often feel like authors are sucked in to create these cliche, popular/wallflower characters. And it was really nice to just have some characters who were completely different – weird, angry, kind, complex, and totally un-cliche.

I loved it! And I especially loved Ronan – he wasn’t your typical bad-boy, and he had actual reasons for why he acts the way he does.

‘“We have to be back in three hours,” Ronan said. “I just fed Chainsaw but she’ll need it again.”

“This,” Gansey replied “is precisely why I didn’t want to have a baby with you.”’

Also, the humour that came along with this book was great! It definitely kept me entertained and chuckling through-out the entire of it!

The only bad thing I will say about it is that the first few pages were a bit slow for me. I sometimes really struggle to settle into a third-person POV, simply because I feel it can be rather disconnected from our characters thoughts and feelings if it’s not done right. But I quickly found myself being drawn in by Maggie Stiefvater’s wonderful writing, and fell in love!

‘They were always walking away from him. But he never seemed able to walk away from them.’

I really didn’t want this book to ever end, but it did, and I need to carry on with the series as soon as possible. I loved The Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie, and am so happy to say that this book did not pale even slightly in comparison! In actual fact, I think this might have been better!

If you like original, Young Adult fantasy books, with no horrible cliches, you’ll love this one!

Have you read this book, or any others by Maggie Stiefvater? What did you think?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

5 thoughts on “Mini Review | The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

