Review | Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

gilthollow

Willow and Lisa exchanged grins and followed the techno-beat of a Sam Smith-Disclosure remix into the packed ballroom glittered with candlelight and cobwebs.

(I had to include this quote from the book – I love Sam Smith!! Also, I just have to say that due to this being an ARC, this quote may not be in the final published version of this book.)

Genre: Mystery, Young Adult

Publishers: Blink

Expected Publication Date: 27th September 2016

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

I love suspense books. All of the classic ‘who dun it’s, either in movie or book form, always capture my attention. So naturally, when I read the blurb for Gilt Hollow, I knew this book was for me.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Willow Lamott’s best friend is a murderer, and no one in the small town of Gilt Hollow will let her forget it. For four long years, she’s tried to fade into the background—but none of that matters when Ashton Keller comes striding into school, fresh out of juvie and fueled by revenge.

The moment their eyes meet, Willow no longer feels invisible. Drawn to the vulnerability behind Ashton’s mask of rage, she sinks deeper into his sinister world and begins to question whether he’s a villain, a savior, or both.

Ashton thought he wanted vengeance, until Willow reminded him what he’d been missing. Now he longs to clear his name and become the person she sees in him. But the closer they get to uncovering the truth, the darker the secrets become, and Ashton fears his return to Gilt Hollow will destroy everyone he loves, especially the girl he left behind.

I really liked the idea for this story! The plot was intriguing – our main character’s best friend has been convicted for murder and has spent the last four years in juvie for it…but what if he’s innocent, even though three witnesses say they saw him do the crime?

Although some parts of this book were predictable, there was still a very large element of surprise. The thing about thriller novels is, if you keep your readers in the dark for too long without a hint of light, it can go one of two ways: they’re either so deeply engrossed that finding out the truth becomes their life; or, their interest starts to wane, and the book can start getting confusing.

Our author did a great job of balancing out the novel out though – she gave us enough clues to keep us guessing, but no clear answers so we were still gripped by the story. This is down to how Langdon constructed the book, but also how she’s written it. This author has the wonderful gift of writing in such a way that you can’t put the book down! A word of advice: read it when you haven’t got a busy schedule, because it’s a lot of late night reading (finding out the secrets of Gilt Hollow was much more important than sleeping!).

However, this book wasn’t perfect – but what book is? I can’t say too much, because I don’t want to give away any unintentional spoilers. However, I do just want to comment on a couple of things:

The ending was good in many ways, but I honestly felt that, aside from our main two, a lot of the characters were forgotten about. It was a fast paced book (which is what you need for a thriller), but I felt like it was a bit rushed here, right where the importance of the story lay. I mean, we’ve just found out who’s done it – and yet, I didn’t get any overwhelming feelings of relief from our characters. I wanted more details – there were loose ends that needed to be tied, and if they had, I’m almost certain this would have been a five-star read.

The bad guy and their motive…frustrated me. I felt as if this person, aside from a couple of instances and a lot of name dropping, wasn’t really that involved in the book. I didn’t feel like their motive was strong enough for all that they ended up doing, either. I had an inkling that this person was guilty, but almost dismissed it because it didn’t really fit. However, they seemed to have a sudden change of attitude right at the end, which made the grand reveal fall a little…flat. And not because I was sort of expecting it – but because I personally didn’t feel like I knew this character enough, if that makes sense.

Don’t get me wrong – this was a very suspenseful book, and finding out the truth was like a breath of fresh air on a lovely spring day. And though it did have it’s faults, they were minor! The good parts definitely outweighed the bad.

If you like suspenseful, Young Adult thrillers, this book is for you!

I would just like to thank Netgalley and the publishers for sending me an e-ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

2 thoughts on “Review | Gilt Hollow by Lorie Langdon

Leave a Reply

