Reading Slump City: An Escape Attempt

Hey guys!

I’ve decided it’s finally time to admit the truth: I’m stuck in a slump.

Since I’m busy revising for my exams in a couple of weeks, I’m not reading even though I want to be. Nothing sounds more appealing to me in my free moments than sitting down with a good book to chill out for a little while.

But I’m struggling to find a book that’s catching my attention from the get-go. With everything that I’ve been trying to read, once I put it down, nothing’s really telling me I should come back to it.

So I don’t.

And I’m finding that it really sucks.

However, I have just started reading a book that I’ve heard great things about, so I’m hoping it might be able to draw me out of this horrible slump. I’m currently reading…

IMG_3761.JPG

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Jim Kay and Siobhan Dowd

What do you do when you find yourself stuck in a slump? And do you have any YA book suggestions for me? I’d love to hear them in the comments!

I also just wanted to say as a side note, once my exams are over I’m going to be much more active on my blog again. I’m just struggling to juggle everything at the moment, which means I’m sort of having to neglect my blog for a little bit – but after the ninth of June, I’m back!!!!

Thanks!

ย – Emma

Read On!

 

 

25 thoughts on “Reading Slump City: An Escape Attempt

  1. Noooo not the book slump! I’ve felt a bit like that since I finished Lady Midnight. It’s a sad time! I’ve heard great things about A Monster Calls, so I’m sure that’ll help! ๐Ÿ˜€ have you read ‘I’ll Give You The Sun’ by Jandy Nelson? I’d defo recommend that for a good summer read! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I’m in a reading slump, I like to read easy, fast paced contemporaries. I read Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks during my last reading slump, and I know not everyone likes his books, but let me tell you, I flew through that book and thoroughly enjoyed it! I also have heard The Selection series is great for getting out of a reading slump, but I haven’t read that series yet! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree – it needs to be something that quickly grabs your attention! And I haven’t actually read any of his books, but I think I will soon. I really want to read The Selection series – maybe I should try it now! Thank you!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Book slumps are the worst; I’m sorry you’re in the middle of one! Here’s hoping Patrick Ness can dig you out of it.

    I typically deal with book slumps and reading burnout by binge-watching a couple (or few, or several) K-dramas. After a few days or a couple weeks, I’m itching to start reading again, and it’s easier for me to settle down into a book.

    Best of luck on your exams! Hope they go quickly and smoothly. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m in a massive reading slump right now too – I feel your pain! I haven’t finished a single book this month so far. I would recommend reading short stories (I actually tend to read random ones I find online when I’m in a slump). I also read fanfiction when I’m in a slump. But one other thing I was thinking of trying was listening to an audiobook – because then you can read a book without actually reading a book haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no, that sucks! That’s a great idea – I normally go on Wattpad to binge read stories on there. And I think that would be awesome! I haven’t actually tried an audiobook before, but I’d love to give it a go! Totally true! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve only just recently started using it again too – I’m actually uploading some things on there of my own! And I love @/fallzswimmer and @/knightsrachel – if you like contemporaries I’d check out their stories!! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh that’s awesome! Aww I’m sure it isn’t ๐Ÿ™‚ I have done some writing in the past (mostly short stories), but I haven’t done any for aaages. Really want to start something new soon ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I created one, but I’ve never posted anything on there haha! I’ve posted some of my short stories on my blog (I think there are about three of them on here), so if I write something else soon I’ll probably share it via my blog again ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I’ll have a look! Yay! I was thinking of putting my writing on my blog, but I was worried about copyright and such, and I don’t know how to go about doing that on here unfortunately!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean – I worry about that too, and with wattpad, but I think most of my blog traffic comes from other wordpress bloggers and I like to think nobody would steal (although that’s probably super naive haha). I think if I started writing a novel, I probably wouldn’t share any of that on here, but with my short stories, I probably won’t ever try to publish them, so although it would suck if they were plagiarized, it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad it’s not just me, and that’s totally true actually! I hadn’t thought of it like that, but like you I don’t think fellow bloggers would copy another’s work, because they know exactly how much effort must have gone in to produce it. And that’s probably very smart!! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: BookTag: #AnonymousBookaholics – The Books Are Everywhere

Leave a Reply

