DNF Review: Mayan Blood by Theresa DaLayne

mayan blood

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Mythology

Publishers: Limitless Publishing

Publication Date: December 29th 2015

Goodreads Synopsis:

Their empires have fallen, but their mythology lives on…

Zanya Coreandero is a seventeen-year-old orphan with only a single friend and no hope for a normal life. Diagnosed with anxiety and night terrors, no one believes her cuts and bruises are a result of an evil entity, and not a brutal case of self-harm.

With the only home she’s ever known being the isolated institution—where breakfast is a handful of medications, the psychiatry sessions are mandatory, and her every move is watched—the only relief is her red-haired roommate named Tara, who’s more like a little sister than her best friend.

Free will is strong, but destiny is stronger.

When Zanya is kidnapped, she meets a group of gifted Mayan descendants, each with a unique ability. Gone from a nameless castaway to the only hope of mankind, Zanya is forced to make a grueling decision: bond with an enchanted stone and save humanity from rising underworld forces, or watch helplessly as Earth falls victim to a familiar dark deity from her dreams. This time, he’s playing for keeps.

A wicked secret hides behind a handsome face…

When Arwan, a dark-eyed timebender, takes interest in Zanya’s mission, it’s unclear if his intention is to help, or if he’s on a hell-bent mission for revenge. Wary of falling for another guy with major secrets and a tainted past, Zanya fights to keep her distance. If only her heart gave her a choice.

This book could have been great. I honestly do believe that – the premise behind this story was such a good one, and had such potential, that it’s really rather disappointing how this book turned out to be.

To start off with, the lack of detail and description was this books major downfall. Half the time, we didn’t know what was going on, or where we were. It was hard to imagine exactly what the characters were going through because it wasn’t explained. When it was, it was brilliant! Our author has a very unique skill for writing descriptively…when it was added. However, later on in the book these lacking things may have been resolved, but I was nearly at the half way point in the book when I gave up, so I don’t think so.

It felt extremely cliche in the beginning. This normal girl has a destiny to live up to that will save her people. And it just so happens her ‘bodyguard’ is an extremely hot dude who she is instantly attracted to, but she refuses to let her guards down because she’s had her heart broken before. Though the story line was different to anything I’ve read before, I already knew what was going on, and what the characters were going to say.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I love a good cliche. But they have to be done in a certain way – they can’t just be made up of the cliche; they have to have depth.

Moving on to our characters, I’m at a bit of a loss for words as how to describe them. I didn’t like any of them, to be perfectly honest with you. Our main character was so irrational, the ‘love interest’ had nothing to him – he was written to come across as emotional and mysterious, but I found him as interesting as a brick wall. It seemed that all of the characters kept changing abruptly, especially their emotions – our main character was sometimes really over the top, without it really being explained why.

(Okay, so your ex-boyfriend who broke your heart suddenly turns up, it’s natural to feel emotional – but is it really necessary for your friend to have to hold you up, and for you to storm off crying and almost get yourself killed? Like, come on girl, pull yourself together!)

In case this hasn’t come across yet, these characters were really not my cup of tea.

The execution of this story fell short, and if it had been better, I have no doubt this would have been a great novel! But unfortunately, I just found this book as a whole undeveloped, and felt as if it had been rather rushed, though nothing of importance happening.

I do have a positive note for this book: I was interested. I’ve delayed reviewing this book for as long as I can, simply because I desperately wanted to finish reading it. I wanted to know what our main character’s specialty was, what her powers were, and what the stone had to do with anything.

If you like Young Adult mythology novels, you should give this book a go! I think I just struggled to connect to it because I wasn’t invested in the characters, unfortunately.

I’d just like to say the reason I’m not rating this book is because I didn’t finish reading it, and I’m hoping to go back to it at a later date. I need to take a break from it for a little bit, though I do want to get back to it as I am intrigued to where it’s leading.

*Disclaimer: I received this book through Netgalley from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.*

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Mayan Blood by Theresa DaLayne

  1. Hmm, I love the concept too. But it doesn’t seem like it was executed very well. The characters were a big part of the problems, it seems.
    But what about the subject matter? Was it handled well? Could you tell that the writer did extensive research?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think if the characters would have been more likeable, so you could actually care what happened to them, this book would have been so much better! And I wouldn’t say the author did ‘extensive’ research – you can clearly see in some parts she has looked things up, but it felt almost as if she was just making it up as she was going along 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

