Mini Review | To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

 

FullSizeRender (6)

Genre: Classic, Historical Fiction

Publication Date: May 23rd 2006

Publishers: Harper Perennial Modern Classics

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

Amazon’s Synopsis:

‘Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.’

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel – a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much.

As much as I’d love to, I can’t review this book as I normally would. This is purely because of the fact that I didn’t go in with the mindset of reviewing it, and I wasn’t reading it because I wanted to – I had to read if for my exams.

‘You never really understand a person,

I disliked the first half of this book with a burning passion. I wasn’t getting the point, and was annoyed at the fact that I wasn’t getting through it fast enough. I thought the background setting that Harper Lee had put in was pointless – why was she giving us all this useless information? Just get on with the story!

Until you consider things from his point of view…

It was only at the very end of the book – and I do mean the very end – where I finally got it. I had that wonderful light bulb moment, swallowed my pride, and went oh. I understood why she’d set it up the way she did. If she hadn’t, the novel wouldn’t have really made sense.

Until you climb inside of his skin,

All I can say about this book was, I was wrong about it. The last chapter changed it all for me – it was wonderful, and it made me understand. It’s sort of changed my views on classic books in general, and I’m really happy about that.

 And walk around in it.’

If you like novels where there may not be a lot of action, but there is a big point behind everything, this is the book for you!

Sorry for such a weird review! Have you read this book? What did you think about it?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

19 thoughts on “Mini Review | To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

  1. This review wasn’t weird! I actually really like the idea of a mini review, like your quick thoughts on the book instead of an in-depth analysis! The first time I read this book, I was kind of “meh” about it, but when I read it a few years later I LOVED it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, I wish I could have given it more! I just couldn’t because though I understand why the first half of the book was necessary, and I’m glad that it was set-up the way it was, when I was reading it I really disliked it :/ But I’m glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag! – icebreaker694

  3. Pingback: Meme to Book Tag! – icebreaker694

  4. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award! – icebreaker694

Leave a Reply

