Cassandra Clare Signing!

Yesterday was absolutely amazing. It still feels like it was all a dream, because it doesn’t really seem possible that I could have met one of my favourite authors ever yesterday, and have her autograph my copy of Lady Midnight.

My friends and I joined the queue at 2:30 in the afternoon, and contemplated whether or not to actually stay. Cassie was starting the signing at 5:00, and since there were so many people ahead of us, we weren’t sure if we’d actually be seen.

But after queuing for half an hour, I realised I couldn’t leave. There was no way I could pass up on the opportunity of possibly meeting one of the worlds (in my personal opinion) best authors, and having her sign my copy of her latest book.

And so we waited.

And waited. And waited. However, the queuing seemed to go by in a blur after the first hour and a half. We were beside a lovely girl called Anna, who made the whole experience a lot more enjoyable since we chatted about the books and the show.

We ended up at the front of the queue, because Waterstones let a few hundred people in to queue on the higher floors (just to give you a visual: over 800 people were there). I can’t tell you how many times people came up to us, and the woman at the door, asking what we were queuing for (people were very curious, and I can’t really blame them: there wereΒ a lot of us fans queuing).

At 6:00, we were let onto a higher floor in Waterstones (which I’m so glad about, because it was starting to get quite chilly). Then we went down to a lower floor, and joined the final part of the queue. (To say I was excited is the understatement of the year!)

Beginning of Rant (You can skip this part if you like, I just really need to get this all off of my chest! I’ve carried on with what I was saying after this part.)

The whole queuing experience as a whole had been pretty awesome – we were surrounded by people that loved Cassandra Clare’s writing and world just as much as we did. Since we were at the front of the outside queue for a long time, we saw a lot of people coming to the worker at the door, asking how long it would be and so on.

But there wasΒ a group of about four families that came up to the door, and started complaining. They said that they weren’t prepared to wait in the queue if there was chance Cassie wouldn’t get to them, and started kicking up a fuss. They claimed they had small children waiting with them, and had apparently had an ‘incident’ in the line.

I do just have to say, as a quick note, the Waterstones employee at the door did such an amazing job handling them. They were really being rather rude, and I don’t know how she kept a smile on her face. It was really annoying to me, just as an on-looker, because this employee had no say over what was going on. How does being rude to her, and having a go at her, get you any nearer to having your book signed, and meeting the author?

Well, apparently, it does the trick. Since they demanded to speak to the manager, he came out to speak with them, and thenΒ let them in before everyone else that had been queuing before them.

I wasn’t annoyed at the fact that they’d gone before me, please understand that. I was pretty certain at this point that I was going to meet Cassandra Clare, so I was so happy it really didn’t matter to me if a few people butted in, since meeting her was all that mattered. But because of those people that went inside, it meant that other people who were true fans of the books didn’t get to meet their idol.

Now, you might be thinking, how do you know they weren’t true fans of the books? When the next group of people were allowed into the shop, they were right in front of us. The lady who I assumed was the mother of the family (who’s kids were definitely not little), was assigning them with books to get signed and stamped, in a rather brusque way.

We saw them ‘meet’ Cassie, and this was what annoyed me the most: they didn’t even speak to Cassie! They didn’t go over to her, or even look in her direction. They just waited for the books to be signed and stamped, and then left.

So people who I assume were only there to sell the signed books got in the way of real fans meeting Cassie, and that is just wrong on so many levels. When we were let inside, the manager did apologise to us and say that, looking back on it, he shouldn’t have done what he had.

End of Rant!

(Wow, that was a lot of hate for one post. I really did have an amazing time, I promise! That experience didn’t in anyway taint my day, but I just have a lot to say about that, so sorry!)

It’s safe to carry on reading here! (Honestly, I’m done with the negative part!)

When I actually saw Cassandra Clare, I nearly cried. I was literally minutes away from meeting this beautiful, amazing woman, and I didn’t know what I would say to her. Saying ‘I love you and I love your books’ didn’t really seem to convey how much love I actually have for all of the Shadowhunter series’ and her.

My friends went before me, and then it was my turn, and everything seemed to happen so fast. At ten to seven, a woman took my books from me (I’d taken Lady Midnight, City of Bones, and City of Heavenly Fire), stamped my two TMI ones, and passed Lady Midnight to Cassie.

She asked me how I was, and I asked her too, and then something amazing happened! I’d painted the angelic runes on my friend and I’s nails, and had drawn matching parabatai runes on our forearms. I’d also drawn (while we were waiting on the higher floors) a clairvoyance rune on my friends hand, and Cassie said she liked her runes. I was just like, omigods! Maybe I didn’t screw up that much when I’d drawn them!

But when she spoke to me, she asked me what my necklace said. I was wearing the necklace my sister got me a few years back, which has this quote on it from The Infernal Devices:

‘” One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”‘

I told her it was a quote from TID, and she leaned across the table and read it, and said ‘how sweet’! (Not joking, nearly went crazy fangirl on the spot. She, the creator of this fantastic quote, liked my necklace!!!!!)

And then my friend and I got a photo with her!!

IMG_1209.JPG

I’ve got to say, Cassandra Clare is an absolutely lovely person. While I was still queuing outside, they had to stop anymore people from joining the queue, but she said that she’d be signing everyone’s that had been queuing, which is a pretty amazing feat. She had a cold paper towel/ice on her hand just before I met her, so I can’t imagine how sore her hand must be today!

You may have noticed that I mentioned earlier getting the TMI books stamped. To get through more people, Cassie was only signing her new book, Lady Midnight, and stamping two others.

Here’s a picture of the stamp in City of Heavenly Fire:

IMG_1232

(Which I’m guessing is the mortal sword with Cassie’s signature in the middle! You can see my attempt at painting the angelic rune on my nails here – I did one hand with them on, and the other hand just plain black. This was partly because I’m not ambidextrous, and because I thought one hand would be what the mundanes see, and the other would be what the Shadowhunters see!)

Here’s Cassie’s autograph in Lady Midnight:

IMG_1235

I also got a free Lady Midnight poster:

IMG_1228

Gods, this was such a long post! If you’re still reading this, thanks for reading down to this point! (And sorry for the rant section being so long :/)

Yesterday was an amazing day; one that I will never forget. Thank you to my wonderful mom for taking me, my best friend for sticking with me, Anna for being so kind to us all, and to, of course, (the goddess herself) Cassandra Clare for being so lovely and amazing and awesome (and for writing the books!).

If you could meet one of your favourite authors, who would it be? And have you already met a favourite author of yours?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

(p.s: I feel the need to clarify this once more: it all still feels like a dream.)

 

15 thoughts on “Cassandra Clare Signing!

  1. I loved reading this post! You seemed to have an amazing day and I’m so happy for you! (Your “ranting” was understandable and I agree with you!)
    I’m actually meeting two of my favorite authors this Sunday! I’ll be meeting Stephanie Perkins and Tahereh Mafi!!!! 😍😍 I’m so excited!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thank you so much!! I really did πŸ˜€ And I’m so glad you thought so too – I felt like I was ranting too much, but I was really annoyed :/ Yay!! That’s so awesome; have an absolutely amazing time!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked reading this! Going to signings is exhilarating, and reading this was kind of like going to one myself! I’m glad you had a great time ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Book Tags | The Book Sacrifice Tag – Bookshelves & Biros

  4. Pingback: Slumps Are For Chumps |

  5. Pingback: Anticipated Releases | Late Spring Edition | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

