Review | Marked by P.C. & Kristin Cast

IMG_0748

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Publishers: St. Martin’s Griffin

Publication Date: May 1st, 2007

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

After a Vampire Tracker Marks her with a crescent moon on her forehead, 16-year-old Zoey Redbird enters the House of Night and learns that she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx and has affinities for all five elements: Air, Fire Water, Earth and Spirit. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is mis-using her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny – with a little help from her new vampyre friends (or Nerd Herd, as Aphrodite calls them).

I liked this book! But then again, it’s pretty hard to find a vampire book that I won’t enjoy (I have a thing for all things paranormal – if you know of any vampire books, tell me them in the comments! Thanks!!).

The ideas behind this book were awesome. Teenagers get marked, seemingly at random, to become one of Nyx’s vampyres, but there’s no gurantee they’ll survive the change? Awesome! Talk about suspense…

Except, there wasn’t really any. There were certain parts of this book, that if the authors had tried, they could have made it build up and up with tension so that their readers were sitting on the edge of their seat to find out what the hell was going on. But I found that any parts where there was a ‘grand reveal’, were rather lacking in that sense.

This may make it sound as if I didn’t enjoy this book – but I did! I read (aside from two chapters) the whole book in a day. The authors did something right, because while I didn’t feel as if I needed to snatch for answers, I did want to find out what was going on.

The use of immature language really annoyed me though. I understand that maybe your main character doesn’t like swearing, and that’s absolutely fine; just don’t make her go around saying things like ‘poopie’. How in any world is that necessary? It just gives your book an overall immature feel, and is a real let down.

Our characters…were okay. Quite cliche, in all honesty. Zoey, our main character, was alright for most of the time. But some of her attitudes and actions really let her down – she felt…quite shallow. And Aphrodite – I mean, really?

Slight Spoiler Alert! When Aphrodite was possessed, during the last ritual in the book, it wasn’t explained. Like, at all. The whole section of that book was actually quite confusing – Damien shouldn’t have known exactly what was going on, it wasn’t explained how Zoey knew what to do either, and Aphrodite was just..well, just there to be blamed, frankly. And what was up with Heath turning up out of the blue? No!! I don’t care if he’s supposedly been ‘imprinted’ upon – there’s no way he would have just found them. End of Spoiler!

The more I think about this book, the more it annoys me. Straight after I finished it, I went and gave it four stars on Goodreads. I realised however, as I looked back on it, that it didn’t quite deserve that many stars. I liked it, I didn’t love it – so it’s a three from me. The thing was, I read Tiger’s Curse and gave it four stars, and compared to that book, this just can’t be compared. They’re on completely different levels.

I’m not sure this book can really be classed as young adult, because it (and the characters) are so immature. However, it mentions certain things that should not be mentioned in younger books.

But gosh; I still can’t get over the words that swear words were substituted for. It literally makes me cringe.

Overall, this book was an easy, enjoyable read. The ideas behind it were really good, and if they’d been pulled off better, could have made it an amazing book. If you’re not easily annoyed by characters, and like paranormal books, you’ll like this one!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

8 thoughts on “Review | Marked by P.C. & Kristin Cast

  1. Great review! You just reminded me that I borrowed this book from my friend about 3 years ago and I haven’t read it yet… oops! I’m definitely going to read it eventually, although I will definitely cringe at the protagonist saying ‘poopie’ instead of swearing haha. And you mentioned about wanting recommendations for vampire books – not sure if you’ve read it, but I really enjoyed The Coldest Girl in Cold Town by Holly Black 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! And oh no – you’re not the only one though, I have done that a couple of times :/ Luckily, she only uses it a few times, but it’s just so unnecessary. I adore The Coldest Girl in Cold Town – it’s actually one of my favourite books! You’re the first person I know who’s read it too!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nooo I haven’t read any of her other books, but I really want to read Tithe and The Darkest Part of the Forest 🙂 And I’m tempted to pick up the Magisterium books too, as Cassandra Clare is also one of my favourite authors. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve read The Darkest Part of the Forest too actually – I really enjoyed it, but it wasn’t what I was expecting it to be! And that’s what me pick them up in the first place; I highly recommend the first one!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I totally agree with you about how annoying immature language is in books! It’s definitely okay for a character to avoid swearing, but their alternatives should be age-appropriate! Otherwise it just seems irritating and unrealistic! That said, I’m still going to check out this book thanks to your review 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely; it’s completely unnecessary. Not using swear words doesn’t bother me at all – but like you said, what’s said in its place needs to be age appropriate. And yay, thank you!! I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

