Review | Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

IMG_0663

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy & Romance

Publishers: Hodder & Stoughton

Publication Date: January 11th, 2011

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Passion. Fate. Loyalty.

Would you risk it all to change your destiny?

The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.

I haven’t read a book this fast in a long time! It was actually difficult to put it down when I had to, and I found myself constantly wanting to read it this past weekend. It was pretty much perfection – with an amazing story-line, wonderful characters, and just lovely writing, it was an awesome book!

‘What is real

I mean, there were some flawed parts to it, but they were so minor it really didn’t matter. I will say that the prologue, for one, sort of annoyed me. The characters seemed to change their attitudes too quickly,which gave off an immature feel right at the start, which could potentially put readers off. If you go for this one, you need to read on past the prologue, and you’ll find what a treasure it is! I also think a few things might have happened too fast (Spoiler Alert: like Ren revealing his human self in the way he did. End of Spoiler!), but the actual pacing of the writing was great.

And what is not

The plot of this book was so original – I’ve never read, or heard of, a book like this. I was fascinated from start to finish, because I really was wondering where it was going. I honestly didn’t expect to love this one as much as I did, but it was just fantastic! And the explorations of Indian culture were also very interesting to read about, and I loved learning more about a culture and country that I don’t know that much about.

Is for your heart to decide

Oh, our characters! They were amazing. Though I did sometimes want to hit Kelsey over the head with her own gada for a few things she did, I always understood her reasoning behind doing them. However, she was a great main character, very like-able and just sassy enough. Don’t even get me started on Ren and Kishan – I am in love! I don’t know how our author has created such charming and alluring characters, but I want a Ren or Kishan in real life!!

And for your heart to know.”

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by how good this book was, as I’ve seen some pretty negative reviews of it. The flowing writing, love-able characters and original plot, not to mention the inclusion of such a riveting culture,  came together to make an amazing novel, and I can’t wait to carry on with the series! (Which will be as soon as I get my hands on the next book!)

Have you read this book? Or do you want to?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

3 thoughts on “Review | Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

  1. Pingback: April Must-Reads |

Leave a Reply

