Going Shopping Always Means More Books

As all bookworms know, it’s almost impossible not to buy at least one book when you go out shopping.

However, it’s not because we want to. Half the time, we actually try and give ourselves excuses as to why we shouldn’t be buying books. Perhaps your reasons are that your shelves at home are already full of TBR books, or that you need to spend your money on something else. And such reasoning is good – it can normally fill you with enough temporary reason that it fools you into thinking you have enough willpower to avoid the temptations of owning another book.

But then you get to the shops.

And you see beautiful books just lying on shelf after shelf. I personally think if I had more self restraint, all of my problems could be fixed: I would be able to resist going into a bookstore, therefore meaning I couldn’t possibly come out with any books.

However, as I’m sure you’ve probably guessed, when it comes to books, all of my sense and reasoning immediately turns off and leaves me stranded in the land of crazed bookworms.

So when I went shopping yesterday with my friend (who is also a bookworm herself, yet managed to handle her book-buying tendencies better than me), I made a mistake.

We went in all of the bookstores. Every. Single. One.

And I bought books.

Right now, I could be focusing on the fact that it’s really bad I went and bought more books when I have so many to read at home, but I figure it’s better if I focus on the positive side, which is this: I could have bought many more books than I did.

Since I only got a small amount of books, I’ve got to say I’m proud of myself – I came back with five books in total, after visiting four bookstores! (Side note: My recent post talks about how I find bookstores so awkward, and if you struggle with this, here’s a tip: take a friend, they’re literally lifesavers in an ocean of awkwardness!)

Here’s what I got:

red queen

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 

Not only does this book sound awesome, I follow the amazing author on Twitter, and she is just so sassy and awesome that I couldn’t not buy her book. I’ve also heard a lot of good things about it, so I’m hoping I’ll like it!

marker hon

House of Night (Books 1,2 & 3)

I’ve wanted to start this series for a while now, but I can never seem to find the first books. So when I saw them in a charity bookstore yesterday, I just had to have them! (Well, I didn’t have to, but I really wanted to, and so I did!)

tiger's curse

Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

I’ve wanted to read this one for a while now, and snagged it when I had the chance! I’m so happy I did, because after starting it when I got home yesterday, I haven’t been able to put it down!

Do any of you guys have any tips on how to resist buying books? And have you read any of these?

 

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

10 thoughts on “Going Shopping Always Means More Books

  1. I fills my heart with joy to see that other people love buying books as much as I do. ❤

    I love buying books a little too much, though. So I have committed to the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge and also a book-buying ban for all of April. I think I will succeed???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

