Review | Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

IMG_0310

Genre: Autobiography, Mental Health

Publishers: Canongate Books

Publication Date: 5th March, 2015

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis: Reasons to Stay Alive is about making the most of your time on earth. In the western world the suicide rate is highest amongst men under the age of 35. Matt Haig could have added to that statistic when, aged 24, he found himself staring at a cliff-edge about to jump off. This is the story of why he didn’t, how he recovered and learned to live with anxiety and depression. It’s also an upbeat, joyous and very funny exploration of how live better, love better, read better and feel more.

I’ve waited a few days since I finished this book to review it, because I felt like my thoughts were all over the place, and I wanted to be able to review it properly.

‘How to stop time: kiss.

But the thing is, days have gone by and I still feel the same way about it! This book is a masterpiece, a work of art that everyone should have the honour of reading at least once in their lives.

How to travel in time: read.

I don’t have depression, only mild anxiety, but some of the things Matt Haig said, and the way he described things, were so relate-able. I can’t imagine how wonderful this book would be to someone who actually has depression.

How to escape time: music.

Saying that however, this book definitely isn’t just for people with anxiety and depression, or any other mental illness, just to read. I think this book would greatly help anyone who reads it – and I’m certain, like Joanna Lumley said, this book is probably going to save lives.

How to feel time: write.

I love Matt Haig’s writing style. His words are hypnotic, impossible to resist. You want to read on and on and on, without stopping until the last page is turned. I also love how he has lists in his book – ever chapter isn’t the same, not even close. I read The Humans by him a few months back, and found his style amazing then too.

How to release time: breathe.’

Striking with emotion, and brutally truthful, this book was a wonder to read. I want to go on a Matt Haig binge-reading session (it’s likely to happen after my exams are done!). I don’t normally read autobiographies, but this book wasn’t like a typical one of that genre – it was just…I don’t have the words, really. I can’t describe it. Just read the book, you’ll be so thankful you did!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

6 thoughts on “Review | Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

  1. Pingback: The Emoji Book Tag! – icebreaker694

  2. Pingback: BookTag: Burn, Rewrite, Reread – The Books Are Everywhere

Leave a Reply

