The Woes of Having a Long TBR

The problem with having a long TBR list is deciding what you’re going to read next.

And there’s also the fact that it’s pretty daunting to have such a large amount of unread books overshadowing you. It leads to questions such as will you ever get round to reading them all? Will you still want to?

So the time might finally come about that you want to de-clutter your list. Unfortunately, it’s much easier said than done when it comes to deciding which books you’re going to essentially ‘write-off’, so…

Here’s how to know when it’s time to remove a book from your TBR list:

1. You added it just because of the cover.

It’s okay, we’ve all done it! From time to time, you come across a novel with such a beautiful cover that it feels like a crime not adding it to your TBR. But it’s time to let the beautiful covers go, my friends: it’s what’s inside that counts!

2. You TBR’d the whole series, but it was a big mistake.

So you added a whole series to your TBR list, but it turns out you have no intentions of reading on beyond the first book. It’s very tempting to add whole series’ to your list – however, there’s no guarantee you’ll actually like it, no matter how good it sounds. It’s always sad to finally give up on a series, but sometimes the books just aren’t for you. You’ve got to accept it’s time to let them go.

3. You can’t remember adding it to your list, and it’s no longer your cup of tea.

There’s no shame in finding you don’t like the sound of a book anymore! I do it all the time – I can’t tell you how many books I don’t remember adding to my Goodreads list, and then looking at them and thinking, ‘did I really like the sound of that‘? It’s happened to the best of us bookworms, I’m sure. Whether it be because your taste has changed, or you simply didn’t read the synopsis properly, ditch that book.

How do you decide when you made a mistake with a TBR book? Let me know in the comments!

On another note, I wanted to say thank you to my best friend Beth (The Books Are Everywhere), because she went to an author signing yesterday, and bought me back a personally signed copy of a book about friendship! How lucky am I, to have a friend that buys me books?!!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

18 thoughts on “The Woes of Having a Long TBR

  1. I use Goodreads to force myself to organize… sometimes it works. I’ve got the to-read list and then I’ve got the to-read lists that are by genre and *those* are actually organized, because I’ve had to go through them and reread descriptions to decide where they go. It helps me declutter, but it’s a big project sometimes. And I’ve learned the hard way with #2! Now I just do the first book of a series (mostly) that I want to read and decide after the first book whether or not I want to read the rest. *Then* I can start adding them. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do too, but you’re so much more organised than I am!! I’d never thought of arranging by genre! And me too – unless it’s a series by one of my favourite authors, I wait until after I’ve read the first book now! And thank you!! 🙂

      Like

  2. I have over 600 books on my Goodreads to-read list, and I admit, I have never gone through it. I just kept adding and adding and now it’s got so out of control that the list itself seems daunting, not only reading the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha I’m totally guilty of adding books to my TBR because of the covers! But man some of they are just so damn pretty. 😦 Just to let you know, I just tagged you in the ‘3 Days, 3 Quotes’ challenge. 🙂 Sammie x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

