Review | Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

IMG_3845

‘”When you love someone, they become a part of who you are. They’re in everything you do. They’re in the air you breathe and the water you drink and the blood in your veins.”‘

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: March 8th 2016

My Rating:ย ๐ŸŒŸย ๐ŸŒŸย ๐ŸŒŸย ๐ŸŒŸย ๐ŸŒŸ

Goodreads Synopsis:

Itโ€™s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didnโ€™t lead her in treacherous directionsโ€ฆ

Making things even more complicated, Julianโ€™s brother Markโ€”who was captured by the faeries five years agoโ€”has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kindโ€”and they need the Shadowhuntersโ€™ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesnโ€™t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

There is no one singular thing that makes this book as great as it is. The relatable characters, descriptive settings, and out-of-this-world writing came together to create an amazing novel, and I found myself completely and utterly absorbed within the world of the Shadowhunters once again.

“I breathe when you breathe,

I was surprised reading this book. From the first synopsis we got, I wasn’t sure where it would go, or evenย could go. I had absolutely no idea what was going to happen, where the story would take us, and I loved that. I like nothing more in a book than to be genuinely surprised by it, and Lady Midnight did nothing short of that.

I bleed when you bleed,

I also loved the fact that our beloved characters from The Mortal Instruments were included in it, but took a happy back seat – it didn’t become about them, they were just there, slipping naturally into the story. There was never any doubt about who the main characters were, and that the TMI characters were only there to warm the fans hearts, and show how they’d grown since City of Heavenly Fire.

Iโ€™m yours and youโ€™re mine,

And by the angel, our main characters! The Blackthorns were just wonderful, and Emma was too! I haven’t read a book which incorporates a normal family dynamic (well, not too normal because Julian’s running the show, but still) into a paranormal world. It was great seeing how the characters worked and slotted together in their day-to-day lives. You’ll be able to find a character similar to yourself in some way in this novel, because their personalities are so vast and different.

Youโ€™ve always been mine.

From the action scenes to filler ones, I couldn’t put this book down. It was almost addictive – when I stopped reading, it left me craving for more. And the romance – how does Cassie do this? I don’t understand how she creates everything so perfectly!

And I have always,

That ending though! How can you end the novel like that? It’s not fair. My heart hurts, and my souls yearns for the next book in the series.

Always belonged to you!โ€

Overall, this novel was woven beautifully. It shocked me, and incorporated things into it that I didn’t even consider (such as poetry). I think this series as a whole is going to be a perfect ‘end’ to the Shadowhunter world, and I couldn’t be more happy with it. It felt like I was coming home reading this book, and that’s all I could hope for.

You can buy Lady Midnight from Amazon here!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

15 thoughts on “Review | Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

    • I think you’ll love it when you read it, it’s amazing! I just want to reread it again and again!! I wouldn’t read it unless you’ve read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series though, because this takes place afterwards (lots of spoilers!) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. Can’t wait to read this! I haven’t even ordered my copy yet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ next book buy I will definitely be grabbing this beauty!
    Great review ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Favourite LGBTQ+ Books | The Book Crunch

  3. Pingback: A Rereading Mission! | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

