Review | The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

book revieww

‘Carly gets the day. I get the night.’

the dead house

Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Paranormal

Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group

Publishing Date: March 10th 2016

My Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Goodreads Synopsis:

Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High burned down. Three people were killed and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. Now a diary has been found in the ruins of the school. The diary belongs to Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s identical twin sister. But Carly didn’t have a twin . . .

Re-opened police records, psychiatric reports, transcripts of video footage and fragments of diary reveal a web of deceit and intrigue, violence and murder, raising a whole lot more questions than it answers.

Who was Kaitlyn and why did she only appear at night? Did she really exist or was she a figment of a disturbed mind? What were the illicit rituals taking place at the school? And just what did happen at Elmbridge in the events leading up to ‘the Johnson Incident’?

 

 

My initial thoughts after reading this one were: Wow. What did I just read?! 

If I’m being perfectly honest, this book creeped me out. A lot. But it was done so in a way that made me keep coming back for more – sure, was I curled up in a ball looking paranoid while I read it? Yes, but I just couldn’t put it down. I needed to know what happened!

The plot was woven expertly – I’ve never read such a chilling, intriguing book before. It had no flaws. Our author, Dawn Kurtagich, has a real skill for making her readers so curious as to what’s going on, that even when you put the book down, you’re trying to figure out where the story will lead us next.

Just before I hit the halfway mark, I literally found it a struggle to put my Kindle down. I felt like I was sitting on the edge of a cliff with this book, and I was both equally terrified and intrigued to find out what lurked at the bottom of the fall. I didn’t want to stop reading it for anything – I would have quite happily sat and read this book the whole of yesterday, and done nothing else.

It was a unique and chilling read, and how it was set-up – with the audio transcripts, video footage and such – was amazing. It was captivating from start to finish, so if you like books that have you eagerly leafing through the pages, though quite eerie, this one’s for you!

You can pre-order this book from Amazon!

Disclaimer: I received this book through Netgalley from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

