Review | Bumped by Megan McCafferty

“Faith is accepting what makes no sense, what we cannot prove, but know down deep in our souls is real.”

bumpedmeganmccafferty

Goodreads Synopsis: 

When a virus makes everyone over the age of eighteen infertile, would-be parents pay teen girls to conceive and give birth to their children, making teens the most prized members of society. Girls sport fake baby bumps and the school cafeteria stocks folic-acid-infused food.

Sixteen-year-old identical twins Melody and Harmony were separated at birth and have never met until the day Harmony shows up on Melody’s doorstep. Up to now, the twins have followed completely opposite paths. Melody has scored an enviable conception contract with a couple called the Jaydens. While they are searching for the perfect partner for Melody to bump with, she is fighting her attraction to her best friend, Zen, who is way too short for the job.

Harmony has spent her whole life in Goodside, a religious community, preparing to be a wife and mother. She believes her calling is to convince Melody that pregging for profit is a sin. But Harmony has secrets of her own that she is running from.

When Melody is finally matched with the world-famous, genetically flawless Jondoe, both girls’ lives are changed forever. A case of mistaken identity takes them on a journey neither could have ever imagined, one that makes Melody and Harmony realize they have so much more than just DNA in common.

I’m not sure what I thought about this book.

The way people acted was unrealistic, and it was hard to wrap my head around people openly supporting and encouraging teenage pregnancy. But I guess when everyone over the age of eighteen is doomed with infertility, what’s the world supposed to do?

Maybe not lose it’s mind?

McCafferty’s take on a futuristic, dystopian world was very interesting. The norms she created – like how young teen pregnancy was not only expected, but encouraged – and the technology – the MiNet – were rather intriguing.

I will admit that during the first few chapters of the book, I didn’t understand what the MiNet was. I thought it was just an app on some type of iPad, yet it was later explained that there was no tablet, but contacts which made you see the virtual ‘screen’. (That probably doesn’t make much sense, however it doesn’t come across as confusing in the book at all.) When it’s actually explained what the MiNet is, it’s extremely easy to follow, due to how our author lays it all out.

There were so many plot twists going on in this book – and though I was surprised at them, none of them really gave me that wow factor which normally comes along with secrets being brought to light.

This might have been because I wasn’t that invested in the characters. You see, there was nothing wrong with our main characters, twins Melody and Harmony, but I couldn’t connect with either of them in any way. Melody was devoted to the cause: being a surrogate and ending up with a handsome deal. Harmony was religious: yet she seemed to be losing her trust in what the people of her church believed.

I just couldn’t relate to them, and that made me not care about what happened to them. Don’t get me wrong, I wanted to know what happened, but I didn’t care on an emotional level. I wanted to know what all the little bits of truths we were given amounted to.

Saying that, I didn’t dislike the twins. Sure, they’re not-now-nor-ever-will-be my favourite characters in the world, but they definitely weren’t the worst. I did really like Zen once we got to know him though (SPOILER ALERT: And I totally called his feelings towards Melody, and I think it made me like him even more – he was so sweet! END OF SPOILER)

Overall, this book was very unique. It reminded me slightly of Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill, just because of the nicknames used for certain things (which, I do admit, really made me cringe in some places). I do think the ending was perhaps a bit rushed – people changed who they were suddenly, when there had been no suggestions that they doubted the lifestyle they were living – but otherwise, this was a fun, easy read that did keep me interested enough to want to read on!

 

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

