We’re Entering Reading Slump Territory…

The worst thing to happen to a bibliophile is happening to me: I’m slowly but surely entering the cruel kingdom of reading slumps.

I know, isn’t it awful? I can feel myself being sucked into the dreaded thing, and there’s absolutely nothing I can do about it.

It’s the reason I haven’t been posting a lot on my blog recently – I’m just finding it really hard at the moment to focus on books.

I’m currently still trying to read South of Sunshine, which is a wonderful book and has nothing to do with the fact that I’m going into a slump. But I’ve got to read it before I read anything else. I feel terrible that it’s taking me so long to read because I was sent it by the publishers through Netgalley, and I was hoping to have finished it sooner than this.

It’s also putting a real downer on my mood, too. Not being able to read means not being able to blog, and they’re both two of the things I enjoy most.

Ugh.

However – in a perhaps vain attempt – I am going to try and drag myself from this wretched slumps grasp to finish this book by:

1. Listening to music.

A jam out session normally really helps me sort out my mood – I’m hoping it’ll block out the effects of the slump while I try and read. The only problem is, I’ve currently lost my earphones…

2. Read on my kindle instead.

You’re probably confused about what I mean on this one. As I’m currently reading an e-book, I’ve been reading it on my phone because it’s always with me. You’re probably wondering, what’s the problem with reading on your phone? Well, it kills my eyes. To the point where I can’t really do much for the rest of the day because of how tired it makes me.

Suckish, right?

I’m hoping if I use my kindle though, it’ll be easier to read on and more comfortable, so I’ll be more inclined to read.

3. Avoid Goodreads.

If I’m daydreaming away about other books, how am I going to focus on the one currently at hand? I won’t. So Goodreads has got to be avoided for a little bit. Hasta la vista, my old friend.

I’m sorry for not really posting that much recently! I’m going to try and get back on track as soon as I can.

What about you guys? How do you deal with reading slumps?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

10 thoughts on “We’re Entering Reading Slump Territory…

Leave a Reply

