Review | Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“The water hears and understands. The ice does not forgive.”

six of crows
Amazon

Goodreads Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Wow. This book was amazing.

It was one of those books that, whilst I was reading the very first chapter, I knew I was going to love it. Every aspect of it – the stunning world, the captivating characters, the riveting story line and plot – was perfect.

There is literally nothing I would change about this book. I loved it all!

Except for the end. Why did you have to end it there, Leigh? I need the next book, like, now. I’m so desperate to plunge back into the Grisha world, and find out what happens next. I want to go through more adventures with Kaz and the gang – I need to carry on shipping all of the ships in this book!

I’ve never come across such perplexing yet wonderful characters. I feel like they’ll be sticking with me for a while. They, and the story line, were just so fascinating and amazing that they would be impossible to forget!

If you like mysterious and intriguing fantasy novels, this one’s for you!

Have any of you read this book, or any other book set in the Grisha world? What did you think of it?

(I wrote a post a few weeks back [A Book Series Conundrum] where I talked about the struggle of reading the first book in a series long before any of the other ones. I was trying to decide whether I should reread Shadow And Bone, the first book in the Grisha Trilogy, and after reading this amazing book, and remembering how fantastic this world is, I’ve decided I’m definitely rereading the first book. Hopefully they’ll last me until Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) is published in September!)

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

Leave a Reply

