Book Club: Six of Crows Chat

Hey guys!

So my friends (Beth and Sophie) and I are back with another book club chat post!

Our January read was Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and I think it’s safe to say we all really loved it! It was just a brilliant book, and I really recommend you give it a read if you haven’t already. I’ll be posting a review soon, so keep on the look-out for it!

(If you guys didn’t know we run a book club, you can check out this post to see what we do, and this post to view last month’s chat post.)

Now without further ado, here’s our chat about the book!

SPOILER WARNING: Read this post at your own discretion. If you haven’t read Six of Crows yet, some aspects of the book might be ruined for you.

What were your impressions of Kaz?

Beth: At first, I found him too tough, too insensitive. But he grew on me as I got through the book, and I liked seeing a nicer, softer side to him nearer the end.

Emma: I. Loved. Him. He was such an amazing character, and it was really interesting to find out why he acted the way he did. He was so calculative and mysterious, I found myself really enjoying trying to guess his reasonings behind things.

Sophie: I thought he was pretty BA. He got better as the book went on, and I really liked his background story. I really like him.

Did you find the world hard to understand at first?

Beth: Totally. I can’t help but feel that Leigh had the entire world in her head but didn’t know quite how to explain it. I also think it was hard to understand without reading any of Leigh’s other books – i.e. The Grisha trilogy.

Emma: I actually found it really greatly described – I mean, there were parts where I went, ‘What’s a Corporalnik again?’ But otherwise, I was fine, and just found the world amazing. However, after saying that, I do technically have an unfair advantage because I read the first book in The Grisha trilogy, Shadow And Bone, a few years back.

Sophie: YES! Oh my goodness, it was so hard at the beginning! I wish I had read Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy first. I thought it was very, very well developed, though! I can’t wait to revisit it.

What did you think about the different perspectives? Favorite?

Sophie: I think my two favorites were Kaz and Inej. They were really interesting to get to know and I wish there was more!! I also liked Jesper and the others. I thought it was interesting that we didn’t get the Merchling’s POV (I forgot his name…)

Emma: (Psst Sophie…his name’s Wylan!) And I loved all of the Point of Views, but I really liked the chapters from Inej and Kaz!

Beth: Honestly, I think Bardugo really pulled this off. One of my favourite books with more than one POV! I loved Nina’s perspective (and Nine in general), along with Kaz & Inej!

If you were a Grisha, what would your power be? Why?

Sophie: I would totally want to be a Fabrikator. I think it would be so cool. I mean, being a Heartrender would be cool too, but I thought it’d be awesome to be able to make it out. Nina was so interesting too. I liked how she thought of her power and what different perspectives she and Matthias had on what a Grisha was.

Emma: Heartrender, no doubt. I would to be able to heal though, like Nina!

Beth: I quite like the idea of being a Healer, but the Heartrender thing is also pretty appealing!

What did you think about Kaz and Inej’s relationship?

Emma: I can’t tell you guys how much I shipped these two. From the very first chapters of this book, I was rooting for them to become an item. Their relationship was so well done and developed – and there was no insta love. There was no sudden flood of emotion from both of the character’s towards each other. It was gradual, and you could see their feelings getting stronger throughout the book. It was just great, and awesome, and I loved it. (Is there anything about this book I didn’t love? In all honesty, I really don’t think so!)

Beth: I loved them! I wish I could have seen slightly more of them together as friends in Ketterdam, but maybe that’s just me. Although I did really like the way, as Emma said, there was no insta-love.

Sophie: I’m in totall agreement with them. I ship it so much. Inej complements Kaz so well and they get each other much better than anyone else. The ending though!!!

How do you pronounce Inej?!

Emma: In my head, I just say it as In-eh-j, like how it’s spelt. However, I’m guessing the j is maybe said as a y? Or perhaps it’s said as In-jay?

Beth: I just thought In-edge…haha. In-jay would make sense though, and fit in more with the world!

Sophie: I say it i-nege like with a soft g sound. It rhymes with “hedge.” Ya feel me??

That’s it for this chat! We’re reading The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry this month, so if you’d like to join us in reading it, our Goodreads Group is open to everyone!

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts on it?

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

5 thoughts on “Book Club: Six of Crows Chat

  1. Pingback: Book Club: March Read | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: My June TBR! | The Book Crunch

  3. Pingback: Book Junkies Chat: A Court of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

