Review | Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck

“We could live offa the fatta the lan’.”

ofmiceandmen

Goodreads Synopsis:

‘Guys like us, that work on ranches, are the loneliest guys in the world. They got no family. They don’t belong no place.’

George and his large, simple-minded friend Lennie are drifters, following wherever work leads them. Arriving in California’s Salinas Valley, they get work on a ranch. If they can just stay out of trouble, George promises Lennie, then one day they might be able to get some land of their own and settle down some place. But kind-hearted, childlike Lennie is a victim of his own strength. Seen by others as a threat, he finds it impossible to control his emotions. And one day not even George will be able to save him from trouble.

This gif appropriately describes how I felt once I finished this book.

Having watched the movie with my sister, I was expecting the thing that happened to happen. I knew it was going to – and yet, I still sobbed like I did when I first saw it.

Gods, did my heart hurt. My emotions hurt.

This novel is so amazing. Is my heart broken? Yes. But this book is so important, that it was worth the emotional pain.

I can’t really review this book as I normally would, because I didn’t go in reading it for fun, and was reading it for my exams. However, I can happily say that I’m glad I had to read it, because I might not have picked it up otherwise. I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would, too.

All I can really say is that this novel gives you an insight to how the world used to be, and how it was if you were anything aside ‘normal’. It’s a tragic story of friendship, and the lengths people will go to until they finally break.

If you haven’t, you must read this book! Just stick with it, trust me.

Have any of you guys read this book? Did you sob like me?

(p.s: thank you to my wonderful sister for buying this book for me, and convincing me to finally read it!)

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

8 thoughts on “Review | Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck

  1. Pingback: Wrap-Up for January | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: The Inside Out Book Tag | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

