Review | Naomi And Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

“It’s a total lie to say there’s only one person you’re going to be with for the rest of your life. If you’re lucky – and if you try really hard – there will always be more than one. ”

naomiandely

Goodreads Synopsis: Naomi and Ely are best friends. Naomi loves and is in love with Ely, and Ely loves Naomi, but prefers to be in love with boys. So they create their “No Kiss List” of people neither of them is allowed to kiss. And this works fine…until Bruce.

Bruce is Naomi’s boyfriend, so there’s no reason to put him on the List. But when Ely kisses Bruce, the result is a rift of universal proportions. Can these best friends come back together again? Or will this be the end of Naomi and Ely: the institution?

I think I was at the halfway point of this book when I finally started enjoying it. And that’s because that’s when I stopped comparing it to the movie.

Yes guys, I committed a bibliophile’s most deadly sin: I watched the movie before reading the book.

For the whole first half of the book, I was constantly thinking about the movie. I was comparing the characters, the events, everything. And if I’m honest, the movie was winning.

But when I finally got into this book, and pushed the movie mostly out of my head, I found myself actually enjoying it.

There were certain aspects that I didn’t like about it – like how Naomi’s Point Of View always had those annoying emoticons mixed in seemingly randomly with the writing, and that (compared to the movie) I really felt like you didn’t get to see what Naomi and Ely’s relationship was like before the ‘thing’ happened.

At first, I was also quite skeptical over how many different Points Of Views there seemed to be. But I found that this sort of made the book – seeing things from everyone’s point of view, it was really interesting, and I think it’s my favourite thing about it!

If you like short books with a hint of comedy and romance, you should give this one a go!

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

 

2 thoughts on “Review | Naomi And Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Leave a Reply

