A Winter Romance

SPOILER WARNING: If you haven’t read Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, proceed with caution (or don’t proceed at all)! This post will ruin certain aspects of this book for you.

I thought it would only be right, as this seems to be the cliche for Christmas books, that I’d talk about a winter romance.

However, the book that I’m taking the romance from isn’t a Christmas book, per se – it does have very important things that happen in the Christmas period though, so surely it counts!

I’m talking about the romance between Baz and Simon Snow, from Rainbow Rowell’s absolutely amazing book, Carry On – you can see my review of this book here. 

Okay, let’s talk Simon and Baz. Let’s talk about how I completely fell in love with both of them (my gods, Baz though!) and how they are my all time OTP (One True Pairing).

The relationship between these two characters just melted my heart, it truly did. I think I may actually be in love with both of them, and their relationship at the same time.

Here are some quotes that I love from the book:

“Sharing a room with the person you want most is like sharing a room with an open fire.

He’s constantly drawing you in. And you’re constantly stepping too close. And you know it’s not good–that there is no good–that there’s absolutely nothing that can ever come of it.

But you do it anyway.
And then…
Well. Then you burn.”

*gasps while the feels attack* How do you even write like that, Rainbow?!

“I let myself slip away… Just to stay sane. Just to get through it. And when I felt myself slipping too far, I held on to the one thing I’m always sure of – Blue eyes. Bronze curls. The fact that Simon Snow is the most powerful magician alive. That nothing can hurt him, not even me. That Simon Snow is alive. And I’m hopelessly in love with him.”

Oh, Baz. (MY EMOTIONS!!!)

“He’s still looking in my eyes. Staring me down like he did that dragon, chin tilted and locked. “I’m not the Chosen One,” he says.
I meet his gaze and sneer. My arm is a steel band around his waist. “I choose you,” I say. “Simon Snow, I choose you.”

I choose both of them. I really do.

I adore the relationship between these two, from start to finish. How at first, they’re facing the misconception that they hate each other (which is more on Snow’s part), and then slowly, they realise that their feelings aren’t what they seemed. It’s just beautifully written, their romance. I will honestly say romance isn’t really my thing. Sure, add a little hint of it to a story to give it some spice, but I don’t do mushy-ness, not really.

But I adored everything between these two characters. I loved the romance (and I never say that about anything…well, hardly) and I loved how beautiful and sweet their love was.

What did you guys think about this book? And how much to you ship Baz and Simon?

Thanks!

-Emma

Read On!

2 thoughts on “A Winter Romance

Leave a Reply

