Aurora Sky: Vampire Hunter by Nikki Jefford

This book is not what I was expecting it to be. Or what I was hoping it would be.

When I saw the word ‘vampire’, I was sold straight away. This simply being because of the fact that I read anything – and I do quite literally mean anything – that involves vampires.

But I really don’t think that I can read this book.

I started reading it this morning, and within the first few pages, I already knew that I wasn’t going to love the style of writing the book was written in. However, I decided I’d give it a go (I wasn’t joking about the vampire thing – I love them!).

It was nearly at the halfway point when I’d finally had enough.

On Goodreads, I’ve seen this book has had quite a lot of good reviews, and so I’m more disappointed that the book turned out how it has. Maybe it’s just me – maybe I’m just not in the mood for this type of book today.

But it was just…it was lacking depth and emotion, for me.

When I read a book, I really want to feel what the main character is going through. Whether it be they’re drowning in their own grieving emotions, or they feel like they’re on top of the world – I want all of it to come through in the authors writing.

And Aurora Sky sure had a lot of feelings to be experiencing, and to be expressed. She went through a horrible, life-changing event, which made her go through a complete personality revamp (do you see what I did there?!) and yet, I felt pretty much no emotion from her.

I didn’t care about this character at all. In all honesty, she just annoyed me. I didn’t feel the underlying emotions that she should have been feeling coming through. She was just suddenly a different person, and that was that.

If the author had  built up how the character was truly feeling, I would probably still be reading the book. But she didn’t, and I’m just not interested in this story anymore, unfortunately. I don’t want to read it, and I’m not going to force myself to.

I hate not liking books, and ranting about them. I just feel awful because I know how long the author must have worked on this book, and I honestly wish I could have liked it.

It’s a shame, but I don’t think I’ll be picking this book up again anytime soon.

Have any of you guys read this book? What did you think of it if you have?

(I just wanted to say: this is all my personal opinion, and I’m sorry if I’ve offended anyone with what I’ve said! Also, super sorry about the rushed post!!)

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

One thought on “Aurora Sky: Vampire Hunter by Nikki Jefford

  1. Pingback: Help!! | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

