Review | The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

IMG_0369

Book Blurb: Mara Dyer had no idea that it would end like this. She desperately wants to believe that there’s more to the lies she’s been told and doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.

She never gave much thought before to how far she would go for vengeance, but with loyalties betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and when fate and chance collide it seems the time for retribution has arrived.
I’ve literally just finished this book and o.mi.gods.

It was amazing.

Everything about it – from the language the author uses, to the in-depth characters she’s created, to the morbid way she can describe things – if you read this book, and find any part of it lacking, you must have read it wrong.

Yeah. I did just say that. How can you read something wrong, you might ask? I have no idea! I just know if you didn’t love this book there must be something wrong.

This book has made me cry, made me laugh, made me grimace; it’s made me feel the whole spectrum of human emotions. It even made me feel crazy, in a sense.

I can’t get over how talented an author Michelle Hodkin is – who can write like that?!! It shouldn’t be possible, to be able to evoke such emotions out of someone by putting words together to make sentences and so on.

But it would seem it is, and people do, and I’m simply rambling now because I can’t get over how amazing this book is.

It’s making me want to go and fetch the first two and re-read all of them over and over again.

I want to feel like this after every book I read – this feeling of elation (because of how great a read it was) and sadness (because the greatness has now ended).

I love Jamie so much – he is just so sarcastic, it’s great. I feel like I’m like him quite a bit (which for me is a good thing, but to others, it might not be!)

Here’s one of the quotes that made me laugh from the book (*contains swear words*):

‘I planted a kamikaze kiss on Jamie’s cheek.

“F**K,” He shouted, wiping it off. “What if you killed me?” He threw a Skittle at my face. It hit my forehead.

“Ow!”

“Taste the rainbow, b**ch.”‘

I know that these characters are going to stick with me for a while now – that I’m going to keep thinking about them. If a story can stick with you like that, it just proves what a treasure it is.

If you haven’t read this book, or the series, you need to!

Here’s the links for the books on Amazon:

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer 1)

The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer 2)

The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer Trilogy)

Thanks!

– Emma

Read On!

5 thoughts on “Review | The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Pingback: Help!! | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

