Review | The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

“I know love is fragile. And loving someone like you is near impossible. Like holding something shattered through a raging sandstorm. If you want her to love you, shelter her from that storm…And make certain that storm isn’t you.”

The words to describe this simply amazing book aren’t coming to me. I know I say this a lot, but I haven’t read a book this good in a long time; one where I truly loved everything the author had written, where I constantly wanted to read this book. I wanted to take it everywhere with me – I didn’t just want to leave it at  home.

I didn’t realise it was a series, so when I came to the end of the book, I was near to crying because this book could not end that way. I just – I couldn’t have handled it if it had. It would have broken me.

Here’s my terrible go at describing this book from the goodreads description:

Eighteen year-old Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan, is

a murderous boy king. Each night he takes a new bride, but

by the next dawn, he has silk cord wrapped around her throat.

When sixteen year-old Shahrzad’s best friend falls

victim to this monster, she wants revenge. She volunteers to be

his new bride, so not only does she have to try and stay alive,

but also try to end the caliph’s reign of terror.

Night after night, Shahrzad weaves stories that ensure

her survival, even though she fears each dawn could be

her last.

But then the unthinkable happens: she starts to fall

in love. Khalid isn’t the monster she thought he was; he’s a boy

with a tormented heart.

Shahrzad knows this is an unforgivable betrayal.

and resolves to uncover the secrets lurking within the palace

walls. But her growing love doesn’t suddenly change what Khalid

has done – if she must, she will take his life.

Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Here’s the link to this book on Goodreads.

You must read this book. It is just absolutely outstanding (the words to convey how truly fantastic this book is still aren’t coming to me. Words just can’t describe it.)

Thanks!

 – Emma

Read On! ✗

2 thoughts on “Review | The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

  1. Pingback: The Choice Awards Are Here! | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: New Year Countdown:3 Days To Go | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

