Review | Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (did it really have to end??)

IMG_0208

I finished the book. And now I don’t know what to do with myself.

I need more Simon, more Baz, more Penelope.

I need more magick.

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one that’s ever been chosen. That;s what his roomate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story, and a mystery. It has just as much kissing as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

I loved Fangirl. But this? This is probably one of the best books I’ve ever read – and I have a really hard time choosing favourites when it comes to books. This one is definitely in my top 5.

Can we just talk about Simon Snow and Tyrannus Basilton Pitch? Please? I NEED someone to fangirl with!! I. LOVE. THEM. I love all of the characters, but Baz. O. Mi. Gods. Rainbow: what are you doing to me? You can’t give me this, these amazing characters, these amazing stories, when I know there will be no more.

There’s only one course of action after finishing this book: go back to Fangirl and read all of Cath’s fanfiction again.

I think everyone who enjoys reading needs to read this book. If you haven’t already, you seriously do not know what you’re missing out on.

Read the book, and fall into the amazing world Rainbow Rowell has created.

(You can go to my Quotes Page to see a favourite quote from the book!)

Thanks!

 – Emma

9 thoughts on “Review | Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (did it really have to end??)

  1. Pingback: The Choice Awards Are Here! | The Book Crunch

  2. Pingback: A Winter Romance | The Book Crunch

  3. Pingback: Review | South of Sunshine by Dana Elmendorf | The Book Crunch

  4. Pingback: My Favourite LGBTQ+ Books | The Book Crunch

Leave a Reply

